Macy's Reviews in Carlsbad, CA | Glassdoor

Macy's Carlsbad Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
0 Ratings
  1. "i worked All over the Store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Loved it Bosses Were Grate Love almost all My store Mgr's Could not ask for More Upper Brass was Grate Love you Maddox and Lungern Thank you Macy's

    Cons

    Long Shifts Push for Credit Cards But if you do it Right it easy

    Advice to Management

    Know you staff Better

    Macy's2016-02-25
  2. "Sales Associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, discounts, diversity, no day is ever the same. Some fun customers.

    Cons

    If they could pay you any less they would. They work you to death and burn you out. There is nothing good about working here.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with a little respect.

    Macy's2016-05-25
  3. "Easy Scheduling, Off Hours, Poor Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetic Specialist in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Great co-workers - Great discount - Low responsibility - Easy systematic scheduling, easy to trade or modify schedules - Early all-team meetings at start of shift

    Cons

    - Poor communication within your department. I worked in Cosmetics and never knew what was going on - Lack of 'cosmetic line' training. Once I got signed onto a cosmetic line, I didn't get formal training as a full-time employee until 5 months in with the cosmetics line - So many employees, managers didn't know the name of all the employees - Zero opportunity to grow

    Advice to Management

    Please communicate with your employees and make them feel like an asset, not just a number. The formal Macy's training was great, but needed more formal training when working for specific lines or companies.

    Macy's2016-01-05
  4. "A wonderful place to get into retail, Macy's knows what they are doing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Signing Team Associate in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers at Macy's care about their associates and if you are going to school they help work around your schedule.

    Cons

    One of the challenges of working at Macy's was when there weren't a lot of hours you can be set as low as 4 hours. This didn't happen often though.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to celebrate the signage team and the merchandisers a little more.

    Macy's2015-09-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Festive during the holidays, flexible hours

    Cons

    little to no pay raise, pushing credit

    Advice to Management

    Making employees push credit on customers is unpleasant for everyone.

    Macy's2015-09-26
  6. "Fun & Fast Paced Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fast Paced. Training available. Great Customer Service experience. Employee discount benefits.

    Cons

    Long hours and late evening and holidays. Managers are constantly moving and changing.

    Advice to Management

    Relate more one on one with employees. Sometimes it can seem like they look at you more like a number on their roster rather than an individual.

    Macy's2015-06-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, co workers, customers, managers. Great team of workers helping each other out to represent Macy's Corporation. We worked very hard to satisfy our clients. The pay was every Friday of every week. I worked in every store department as a seasonal worker! I had a great time!

    Cons

    We made our own hours which was good until you didn't see an opportunity to work a day. We would leave sometimes around 9:45pm to clean the entire department. It was good but tiring sometimes.

    Macy's2015-05-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Retail Sales Associate Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I loved all my associates.

    Cons

    I worked at Macy's for about a year as a sales associate and consistently worked very hard trying to get a position as a denim specialist. I did more than asked for my position and was always working while many of my associates would stand around and talk. Although I worked very hard, my work was never recognized and about a year after working as a sales associate, I was given a 14 cent raise, which insulted me as an...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't feel there is much room for improvement in position at Macy's and strongly suggest to management to really pay attention to employees and their work and provide an opportunity for growth.

    Macy's2014-10-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The training is inefficient."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was close to home and I did enjoy the employee store discount. Also, liked just having to wear simple clothing: black pants, white top.

    Cons

    Training inefficient. Management poor.

    Advice to Management

    Get more professional and mature employees working in management. Not enough hours.

    Macy's2014-05-21
  10. "Ok for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory in Carlsbad, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, friendly staff and management ,nice employee discount,help with school,perfect if part time.

    Cons

    A lot of last minute schedule changing

    Advice to Management

    Give at least 24 notice on schedules change of hours for shift

    Macy's2014-01-13
Found 14 reviews