Macy's Cincinnati Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
30 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Promotes diversity and inclusion Good worklife balance Great Benefits

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment, really good company to work for

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-08-18
  2. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Generally solid leadership support Opportunities to move positions within the company

    Cons

    Uncertainty of the company Low ability to climb

    Macy's2020-04-10
  3. "No room for growth"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    It is an ok place to work

    Cons

    Only favorite are usually promoted

    Macy's2020-04-10
  4. "Good, but not great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employee discount, great pay, really nice co-workers

    Cons

    Low salary, not always valued

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-03-01
  5. "Enjoyable place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Benefits available to part-time employees -Coworkers and managers are very helpful

    Cons

    -Business slows down at the beginning of the year so there aren't as many hours available -The employee discount is only given if you use your Macys card however they do offer a prepaid card if you don't want the credit card

    Macy's2020-02-03
  6. "What a Hellhole"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Style Advisor in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts, the managers hand out of Macy’s money like it’s candy.

    Cons

    Worked there three months hanging up swimsuits before someone trained me for my position. Company downsized and my position has been eliminated. No regular schedule.

    Macy's2020-01-31
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Racism hidden with a smile"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Specialist in Cincinnati, OH
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Macy’s is very lenient and has a very laid back environment.But there are darker forces at play.Macys doesn’t promote black employees.For every department of 100 to 200 employees and 10 plus managers you might find one black manager.I work around white people who have given looks and the cold shoulder to me and other black employees.In particular a black woman who has been at Macy’s for 2 years who is an encyclopedia for Macy’s who was passed up for a mentor position for a white female whose been their for 1 month who doesn’t know half the knowledge this woman knows.The white employees are loud and inappropriate on the floor and no one says anything,the minute a group of Black woman get together and make any noise it’s a company violation.Theirs one black manager in Macy’s that’s constantly isolated and purposely left out from any company events or task.Theirs two managers who are older white woman who don’t hide the fact that their racist and everyone knows who they are.When a black person is promoted a Black person is fired.I was the top collections agent and my peer who happened to be white with less experience got a 1 dollar raise while I got 40 cent.Theirs people who you speak to in my department and they won’t speak back.Macys does events and caters food and deserts to keep you feeling comfortable.This is only on collections,when you go into the sales departments you might see a handful of black people.

    Cons

    Theirs no room for growth.You think your going to speak to people and your getting voicemails for 6 hours straight.Your never going to move up the latter.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-12-05
  8. "Good company with good people"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Cincinnati, OH

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great collaborative environment Fun culture around holidays

    Cons

    Retail industry in general is a little tough

    Macy's2019-11-23
  9. "Good to start a career here"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Advisor in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends

    I worked at Macy's for more than a year

    Pros

    nice team, welcoming environment, space to grow, learning opportunities

    Cons

    duplications in administration, slow corporate processes

    Macy's2019-10-30
  10. "Very confusing, lack of structure and communication"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Seasonal Beauty Advisor in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team was fun to work with

    Cons

    They basically throw you in at the peak time of the year during the holidays and let you fend for yourself. I wouldn't go back as a seasonal associate, but if I were a regular associate that received the right amount of training I would feel more comfortable.

    Macy's2019-09-12
Found 224 reviews