Macy's Columbus Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
16%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
10 Ratings
  1. "Nice brand to work with"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Columbus, OH

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working environment and flexible schedules

    Cons

    Pay is less I feel

    Macy's2020-01-09
  2. "Proceed with caution"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Dublin, OH

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Pretty laid back most of the time

    Cons

    Poor management and completely understaffed

    Macy's2020-03-11
  3. "Broadview: Excellent - Detailed View: Terrible"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Salary, Excellent Chartiy Opportunities, Always take care of the customer viewpoint.

    Cons

    Store Management and District Management are inept. They do not look at "real world" concepts and issues in the store and hold to "just do it like the paper says." Cut staffing levels for two weeks so the store could hold the hours and use them to organize and clean store for three days before a Regional Manager visit. Store received over 10 written complaints those two weeks about staffing. Store and district managers put sales managers on "warnings" for bad customer service and not doing their job over the complaints. Two managers professionally defended the sales management team to those warnings and now they no longer work for Macy's. Very Sad!

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-03-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Position review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Columbus, OH
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like the people I work with and like the flexibility with working hours, enjoy working with the merchandise.

    Cons

    Working conditions aren't the greatest, they won't turn on the store lights until the store opens, so you work with the lights off. Equipment needed to work is not maintained and is a constant problem of working. Store is dirty and messy, management limits the number of hours available to maintain the store, making it impossible to give a good customer experience and to keep the merchandise organized and displayed properly.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-02-11
  5. "Macy's Sales"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Columbus, OH

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Able to pick and advertise your shifts online

    Cons

    Key days are locked and not able to advertise shifts

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-01-06
  6. "Not recommended"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commission based job, nice co workers

    Cons

    Favoritism, managers are lazy, stressful about opening credits and making numbers

    Macy's2019-05-10
  7. "Mostly pros but consider the cons"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Part-time gave me a flexible schedule. Great people. Great discounts.

    Cons

    Lots of management changes with different directions for the role. Very confusing how to do the job.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-04-19
  8. "Treated fair, retail going through many changes"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Field Service Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fair Salary, benefits decent, Good with work life balance.

    Cons

    Retail supporting holidays, after hours oncall

    Macy's2019-03-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Eh...not too bad. Used to be better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount, paid time off, easy to trade shifts

    Cons

    Pay, mandatory 6 day work weeks during holiday, no work/life balance

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-10-31
  10. "Commissioned Sales Associate"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commissioned Sales Associate in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay (Friday) Relexed Dress Code 20% - 30% Discount

    Cons

    No life / work balance Managers play favorites Poor Pay Expensive Health Benefits Unreasonable Sales Goals Macys Credit Card sales tactics are pushy and APR is too high.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-06-26
Found 92 reviews