Find jobs for Cosmetics Counter Manager

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Macy's

Engaged Employer

Macy's

Add a Review

Macy's Cosmetics Counter Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 223 of over 23K reviews

3.2
44%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
36 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Macy's and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good company

    Mar 30, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Suffolk, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good money , paid time off and sick days

    Cons

    Bad hours open on holidays

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great at store level

    Apr 22, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the store and people I work with, it’s like a family. Managers are attentive and understanding but that would vary depending on store. Great discounts for employees and they provide masks, gloves and other pandemic necessities.

    Cons

    Corporate is in a fantasy world after COVID. They expect us to do more than ever with barebones staffing. They are also intimidating to stores so people feel they have to lie to them and pretend everything is okay instead of being honest and finding a solution to the issue. I have no time to see my family and sometimes can’t even get out of the store when it’s my time to clock out. It sucks the life out of me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Decent place

    Jun 12, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Bridgewater, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Steady environment, extra discounts for employees

    Cons

    Too much pressure to open credit cards even if the costumer already has one

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Great company, but they have closed many stores

    Apr 21, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Jackson, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved selling and demonstrating cosmetics as well as developing a clientele.

    Cons

    Work almost every Saturday and Sundays. Jobs were cut over the years and was a skeleton crew before I was laid off after over 22 years due to downsizing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good money

    May 3, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Customers are great. Commission plu base is great pay.

    Cons

    Could have better benefits. Retail schedule.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Just okay

    Apr 25, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount is the only perk.

    Cons

    Long hours and no free time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    So much better out there than Macys

    Mar 29, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, easy to drop and pick up shifts, easy to call out to work. I will say Macys is a very diverse and inclusive workplace and I really felt that when I worked there.

    Cons

    Limited growth for employees to get to "back office" jobs, there is a huge separation between the floor workers and managers. Very few employees I worked with were able to grow their careers, even if they had qualifications. Also retail is a tough industry, and I'm sure even tougher with COVID.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not optimistic

    May 10, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility, union position in some locations.

    Cons

    Unorganized, understaffed, underpaid and unimpressive.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Mar 11, 2021 - Cosmetics Counter Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance and great place to start your career.

    Cons

    Opening credit cards can be stressful.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful