Macy's Denver Reviews

Updated May 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
56%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
7 Ratings
  1. "Former job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Warehouse Associate in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Friendly staff, best environment, good timing,

    Cons

    Busy work, had to lift boxes

    Macy's2020-02-23
  2. "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Westminster, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Vacation policy Good coworkers

    Cons

    Pay could be better Some bad managers

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-11
  3. "Sales"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Furniture Sales Associate in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good product and furniture and customers

    Cons

    Bad management until i left

    Macy's2020-03-04
  4. "Alright if you want your job to rule your life"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Team Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great if you are into fashion, customers are great

    Cons

    In an effort to “trim the fat” and run the business in a lean way the company has started to cut too far. I find myself working 60+ hour weeks just to try to stay on track, and I am generally in a much better place with my metrics and results than my colleagues in other stores.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-10-30
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Late close scheduled before an early start, promised commission not provided"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays a little in between regular jobs. Heated and air conditioned facility. Reasonably clean work. Supervisors are nice. Hired right away after applying and interviewing.

    Cons

    We had online training classes for 6 hours including anti-union propaganda, then were put on the sales floor during a big weekend sale Saturday. The senior cashier did not have time to teach us much. Next shift wasn't scheduled until Black Friday, nearly a month later; we will not be prepared well. During my interview, I requested to work seasonally, late morning and later. I am scheduled to work late, then come in 7 or 8 a.m. the next day. I have 6 a.m. start times, too. This was not at all what I had hoped for and requested. No one wants to work late, then come in early the next day! It really messes up one's sleep cycles. It's odd that managers haven't figured that out, yet. 6 a.m. , 7 a.m., nor 8 a.m. are not late morning, folks! Plus, I was told I would make commission even when in a different section than my usual. Not true. Retail is hard work physically and mentally. Macy's schedulers make it harder, yet, with unnecessarily inhumane schedules.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-11-23
  6. "Backstage team lead"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Backstage Team Lead in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working with very professional people very friendly and family oriented always room to move up into management. Very satisfied working with macys at park meadows mall in Colorado.

    Cons

    Credit cards and meeting more sales Quota

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-10-03
  7. Helpful (4)

    "The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Westminster, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Good: First off, Macy’s is a great “in between real jobs” type of job. They hire everyone and anyone. You can be fresh out high school, or still in high school, or you can be looking for part time work only, or you can be an immigrant with little education, because it really doesn’t matter what your background happens to be. I used to work in high-end boutiques and I find that Macy’s is a discount house for lower end fashion, and anybody can work there. It is a great stepping stone to a real career, if you choose. Some managers are really great. At Orchard, Westminster, CO, Kathleen is outstanding. She works hard and she appreciates her staff. Ramesh is another outstanding manager, and is always happy to show direction. Those two should get accolades and a big raise!

    Cons

    The bad: #1 You can make more money and get better benefits as a grocery bagger at any grocer outlet, anywhere. The pay at Macy’s is absolutely horrible. Minimum wage is all they can offer. #2 The work hours at Macy’s is ridiculous. They will schedule employees in a nonsensical way. For example, I have been scheduled to close at night, that means getting home after midnight sometimes, only to have to get up at 5 am to open the department store at 9:00 am, and this happens a lot! (Yes, we are there long before the stores actually open.) You end up dragging yourself through the day, and it cuts your productivity down dramatically! Are they just trying to wear their employees out, or are they just taking advantage of compliant employees? #3 They don’t like giving their employees breaks. Sometimes, you have to beg to get off your feet for a few minutes, even if you are working over 8 hours per day! You will end up with health problems if you allow them to deny you breaks. Not all managers are like this, but enough are that it is a problem. The ugly: # 1 a) Managers will stand around and sexually harass their new hires. Don’t get me wrong, because many managers are great, friendly, helpful and grateful that you are there. But, sometimes even those managers don’t seem to understand sexual harassment laws. They will comment on a female employee’s body, appearance and age, and availability, etc, etc. I was just walking by, and happen to see three managers (S, A and B, two women, one man) sexually harass a female colleague of mine. I was shocked! They did not see me, as I was around the corner and the female target was in plain view of them. She was a really nice, happy, and helpful colleague. She did leave for a better job, and I thought, “Wow, good for her!” # 1 b) Some managers do spend a lot of idle time, doing nothing. Some managers will stand around, especially at the make-up counters and gossip in the most terrible ways. I walked by only to hear a manager, with a name that rhymes with Pessica, with long, black, curly hair, horned-rimmed glasses, with a horse-shaped face), explain how to get someone that you don’t like fired. It made me wonder what else does she do all day. That particular manager can be very offensive to others, and she enjoys spreading false rumors about her crew, and even associates that are not even in her department! She really does little else, as far as anyone can tell. All you have to do is ask anybody who has to work with her.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-09-01
  8. "Great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Work life balance is a little un-balanced

    Macy's2019-06-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Poor pay for a prestigious company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Lone Tree, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good people, wonderful management

    Cons

    Computer randomly sets schedule. Very low pay to provide world class customer service

    Macy's2019-06-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Work somewhere else"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Macy's Seasonal Sales Associate in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff members who were not in the management track were all fun to work with.

    Cons

    The store management was a mess, and had contradictory views on how to operate the store. Most of the managers treated the staff poorly, even yelling at staff members in front of customers, and they clearly didn't keep the customers as their priority. The hours were irregular and the pay was poor in comparison to other similar jobs. I worked over 40 hours a week and the payout was minimal. You also can't utilize the employee discount unless you sign up for a Macy's card, which is either a debit or credit card. I wouldn't recommend working at Macy's to anyone, don't waste your time.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-05-01
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 82 Reviews