Macy's HR Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's HR Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
46%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
10 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Promotes diversity and inclusion Good worklife balance Great Benefits

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment, really good company to work for

    Advice to Management

    I have none at this time, really enjoyed my last 5 years here.

    Macy's2019-08-18
  2. "Great opportunities available to learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Its a great environment to learn new skills, has strong leadership and wants to continue being at the forefront of the next generation of multi-format retail.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, pay increases, incentives and benefits are not market competitive in New York.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to evolve in the changing retail landscape. Reward leaders who want to be great partners.

    Macy's2019-09-30
  3. "company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    good benefits and flexible hours

    Cons

    working on holidays and no raises

    Macy's2019-07-30
  4. "Great start, then fizzled out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. People on the team are genuinely some of the best people I've ever worked with. Opportunities for career growth and progression for those individuals who do great work, add value to the org, and speak up about where they want to go.

    Cons

    When I first started at Macy's Tech, I was inspired by the people and the work that we were doing. We were empowered to try new things and drive new initiatives wherever it made sense. The hub in San Francisco, especially, was a source of innovation and inspiration; it felt like we had teams and leaders in place that could help propel Macy's as a whole forward and execute some really cool products in the e-commerce... space. However, recent org changes (mainly the consolidation of the West and East Coast tech hubs) and leadership changes have really stilted the amount of progression we could do. It became very obvious that the rest of the org wanted to absorb the digital teams (rightly so, since they are the growth drivers) — but began to force those teams to slow down their processes to allow the rest of the enterprise to catch up. A huge morale killer. Plus, benefits could be significantly better, even for a retailer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide concrete direction, particularly within tech and digital. Acknowledge those individuals who actively try to improve processes, programs, and products — and reward them by allowing them to share those best practices with the rest of the enterprise (instead of acting as a blocker for progress). If you aren't willing to evolve, then embrace the fact that top talent will leave.

    Macy's2019-07-18
  5. "Great for introduction to HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Human Resources Administrator in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for less than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience Leadership is approachable Hands on learning allows you to learn new software

    Cons

    Work/Life balance is difficult during seasonal hiring

    Advice to Management

    The ideal employee may not check all the boxes. Culture fit and the ability to learn quickly are equally important.

    Macy's2019-07-12
  6. "Its retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Human Resources Assistant 

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its a big company. Very hierarchical

    Cons

    Low pay, okay culture, overall ok ay

    Macy's2019-05-09
  7. "Human resource"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    It has been an experience of a life time

    Cons

    No work life balance unfortunately

    Macy's2019-04-26
  8. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Human Resources in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing Brand.... America’s Store for Life! Unbelievable Leadership Community. CEO is humble, brilliant, and personable.

    Cons

    None.... not your typical retailer!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Special! Magical.

    Macy's2019-03-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Human Resources Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice people in the stores

    Cons

    Corporate Management - arrogant and hierarchical.

    Advice to Management

    Telling all of the store's HR Managers to start searching the company job postings in November 2017 but not confirming that the stores HR Manager positions were being eliminated - why?? Horrible treatment from HR to their own HR managers.

    Macy's2018-12-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resource Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Collaborative and Innovative company. Company culture was positive.

    Cons

    Work life balance was difficult at times

    Macy's2018-11-15
Found 69 reviews