Macy's Hayward Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
2 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Macy's and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    working for macys west

    Dec 3, 2012 - Anonymous Contractor in Hayward, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the people i work with are a lot of fun, the customers are generally great and easy to work with, and i love my macys card

    Cons

    doesn't work around my school schedule its like either i work or i dont work at all. and then when i do work its once a week.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    very busy

    Aug 25, 2020 - Sales Representative in Hayward, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    employees get good discounted price

    Cons

    standing all day. short breaks. Not very well ventilated

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent Training

    Jan 15, 2020 - Group Sales Manager in Hayward, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training was awesome. What I learned still benefits me 16 years later.

    Cons

    Retail wages in general are depressing and Macy’s was within industry standards, not higher or lower than expected for retail.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Sales Associtae

    Oct 27, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Hayward, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people that they hire are the best unless it is that time of year which then they fill with anybody they can get.

    Cons

    The security is bad, most people walk away with merchandise

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great benefits, poor pay.

    Oct 11, 2018 - Brand Manager in Hayward, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits were great, management was awesome and I loved my DM.

    Cons

    Pay was low. It is super hard to support yourself with such a low paygrade.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    I had no idea I would be considered such an unimportant member of the Macy's team.

    Jan 7, 2014 - Floor Support/Recovery Associate (Temporary/Seasonal) in Hayward, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get a 20% discount on merchandise, and occasionally the management might bring in free snacks.

    Cons

    I had no idea that I would not be ringing on the register at all, even though I received the training for it. I put clothes on hangers, folded clothes, ran racks, etc. It was very boring, menial, sometimes fatiguing work. Not to mention, they didn't even bother considering my availability--they gave me shifts whenever they wanted, even at times when I was in school. They even put me in an apron, because aprons supposedly repel customers that need help. Surprise! They don't. When I told my manager I just finished helping out a customer, she said "aw," as though it was so cute that I did something that was not in my job description or expected of me. Her condescending tone sealed how I wasn't taken seriously this this workplace at all.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Temp. Job

    Nov 6, 2014 - Retail Sales Associate in Hayward, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay is good if you are working with commission. Very good job to have if its temporary or your first job. Hours are pretty good too.

    Cons

    The company values making money more than the condition of the employees. You have goals that you have to meet EVERYDAY. There is a certain number of credit card accounts that your manager expects you to open. There are also a bunch of rules and regulations that they do not go through during training but can result to termination. Whether you work or commission or not, your colleagues fight over sales! Since you have goals everyone is competing. Those that have worked there longest are very territorial over their sales and end up with way too much drama. Management often does not know how to deal with these issues.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    "Good Management Experience but Retail is not for me"

    Dec 12, 2012 - Sales Manager in Hayward, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Room for career advancement for ambitious, successful managers -Compensation and benefits are fair and raises/bonuses are performance based -Autonomous work environment allows you to develop your personal management style -Friendly, diverse and open work environment

    Cons

    -Work life balance in retail management is tough and doesn't get better when looking for career advancement -Little follow through and feedback from upper management on the practices that are supposed to grow the company -"Drama" and "gossip" -pushed to open credit accounts with many customers who probably can't afford it and shouldn't be using credit

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    tried to apply

    Dec 16, 2015 - Sales Person in Hayward, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nothing is good about working in macy's-- prestige boloney

    Cons

    nothing is good -- the ones on top make so much money while sales people make nothing and they pay you minimum wages f prestige boloney - they are legal thieves and the people who work there do not need the money or they work to kill time, but if you want to survive this place is not for you ., imagine you live in the city where you have to pay high rent and you are getting paid 8-10 dollars an hours f garbage low life corporations are nothing but legal thieves . even 15 dollars is not enough per hour and no one should work there - minimum wages should be 20-25 dollars an hour but as long as you have people accepting the slavery they do not care- f macy's made in china clothes anyways -- this is my opinion and i stick with it

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Very flexible

    Dec 17, 2014 - Cosmetics On Call in Hayward, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love their flexibility and the way they praise my work. Whether it's a small task or big.

    Cons

    They have ridiculous hours during the holidays that you are forced to work. The pressure you get to get credit, whether they got approved or not; it still counts for us, is annoying.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

Popular Careers with Macy's Job Seekers

Supply Chain Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Macy's? Share Your Experiences

or