Macy's Reviews in Hayward, CA | Glassdoor

Macy's Hayward Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
2 Ratings
  1. "working for macys west"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's for more than a year

    Pros

    the people i work with are a lot of fun, the customers are generally great and easy to work with, and i love my macys card

    Cons

    doesn't work around my school schedule its like either i work or i dont work at all. and then when i do work its once a week.

    Advice to Management

    none i love most of the management there

    Macy's2012-12-03
  2. "Great benefits, poor pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits were great, management was awesome and I loved my DM.

    Cons

    Pay was low. It is super hard to support yourself with such a low paygrade.

    Macy's2018-10-11
  3. "Fair job, lack of innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Officer in Hayward, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Straightforward job Lots of downtime outside of peak season Good exercise, not too strenuous Lunches and breaks enforced and guaranteed Entry-level, trainable Weekly pay

    Cons

    Lack of funding for new technology leads to inefficiency Occasional “office politics,” mixed communication Can be physically demanding at times, depending on shift and officers available Hours scheduled weekly, subject to change Hours based on all employee availability, Hours may be cut outside of peak season

    Advice to Management

    Please communicate with your associates and fellow managers, especially in regards to deadlines and expectations. Corporate, please don’t be so stingy when it comes to improving facilities. Innovation is insurance, money spent on improvements now is money saved from disasters later.

    Macy's2018-07-17
  4. "Beauty Advisor/mgr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beaty Advisor/Mnr in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Making great connections with the customers, teamwork, coworkers, and the ever evolving pace of Macy's. Working for Macy's has been a great experience , and I believe would be great company to continue to work for the reasons stated above.

    Cons

    Never having a set schedule, always working weekends, the pay is low and their expectations high, stressful, downsizing,

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees, they will take care of the customer.

    Macy's2018-02-13
  5. "Worst Place I've worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Hayward, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely none glad i left

    Cons

    To begin with they warehouse was janky. It was dark inside very dirty, it looked like a horror movie. You also never had a fixed schedule, you were always on call a day before.

    Macy's2017-09-26
  6. "Sales representative associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hayward, CA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had a good work environment. A lot to learn from. Focuses on all the aspects of the job which helps you to groom. Good staff.

    Cons

    Low pay. Not a lot of advantages.

    Macy's2016-02-21
  7. "tried to apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Person in Hayward, CA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nothing is good about working in macy's-- prestige boloney

    Cons

    nothing is good -- the ones on top make so much money while sales people make nothing and they pay you minimum wages f prestige boloney - they are legal thieves and the people who work there do not need the money or they work to kill time, but if you want to survive this place is not for you ., imagine you live in the city where you have to pay high rent and you are getting paid 8-10 dollars an hours f garbage low... life corporations are nothing but legal thieves . even 15 dollars is not enough per hour and no one should work there - minimum wages should be 20-25 dollars an hour but as long as you have people accepting the slavery they do not care- f macy's made in china clothes anyways -- this is my opinion and i stick with it

    Show More
    Macy's2015-12-16
  8. "Very flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics On Call in Hayward, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love their flexibility and the way they praise my work. Whether it's a small task or big.

    Cons

    They have ridiculous hours during the holidays that you are forced to work. The pressure you get to get credit, whether they got approved or not; it still counts for us, is annoying.

    Advice to Management

    Be around to help.

    Macy's2014-12-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good Temp. Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Hayward, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good if you are working with commission. Very good job to have if its temporary or your first job. Hours are pretty good too.

    Cons

    The company values making money more than the condition of the employees. You have goals that you have to meet EVERYDAY. There is a certain number of credit card accounts that your manager expects you to open. There are also a bunch of rules and regulations that they do not go through during training but can result to termination. Whether you work or commission or not, your colleagues fight over sales! Since you... have goals everyone is competing. Those that have worked there longest are very territorial over their sales and end up with way too much drama. Management often does not know how to deal with these issues.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management should value their employee more and become more aware of what actually goes on. I personally got sexually harassed by customers and management and security failed to do anything about it.

    Macy's2014-11-07
  10. "Macy's was a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in Hayward, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customer relationships, doing what I love, co-workers were the best.

    Cons

    Pay was low for the expectations that were given.

    Advice to Management

    Make more of an incentive for employees by doing more for management.

    Macy's2014-07-31
Found 16 reviews