Macy's Reviews in Indianapolis, IN | Glassdoor

Macy's Indianapolis Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
3 Ratings
  1. "Estee Lauder Beauty advisor 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Estee Lauder in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's for less than a year

    Pros

    They treat me good. The pay is good if your commissioned. Managers are fair.

    Cons

    Your on your feet all day. Retail hours. Open Thanksgiving day.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2015-04-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate In Macy's in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The wonderful people I work with, and satisfaction when I can really help out a customer. The only thing I can recommend is this could be a learning experience, if you are desperate, or a first job. I have no idea how many of the wonderful women & men who work here have held on for 20 years or more. Clearly they have other income sources, as Macy's does not pay enough to meet basic expenses, even if you are given the elusive ( and not really) full time status.

    Cons

    Obscenely low pay, little to no consistency in getting hours. This last is a real problem, the "system" sets your schedule every 2 weeks. No matter what has been agreed to with HR, this electronic system seems to have no memory of that. Of course, HR sometimes has their own reality that has little bearing on actual events. Even when you are "full time," there are 2 types of FT work, (surprise! This was not explained until after the transfer. Like so much of what goes on here.) Neither gives you 40 hrs. Lack of clear, consistent communication, an odd disconnect of very young managers not acting as if they realize that most workers have full lives and regular bills to pay. I do believe that is simply Macy's corporate culture, the CEO gets $7 million bonus while the worker bees making Macy's profits are not paid a living wage. No idea what store managers are paid, all very hush-hush. Also, management has a very falsely cheery presentation to us front line workers, like we're going to be excited by being treated like a child, expected to cheer on cue, having no problem that there are no commissions except in shoes, fragrances, and furniture, that a manager with her/his own agenda can stall your movement through the store's hierarchy, no matter how well you review. Yep. Definitely a business that cares for cash over workers, a place for the 1% to rise further.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2015-05-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The associates are unprofessional, the new management are very unprofessional, Human Resource are very unprofessional."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asset Protection Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    me with my good customer service skills, my professionalism skills,

    Cons

    No one pays attrition to there own job, thy are to worried about mines

    Continue reading
    Macy's2015-04-06
  4. "People are amazing, expectations not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team I worked with got a long great. The environment there was fun and made the day fly by. Pay was typical for a retail company.

    Cons

    They expect you to do a lot more than most are capable of without any sort of formal training.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-12-05
  5. "Not too shabby"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely working environment with management trained to communicate with and coach employees. Scheduling system is great allowing for good work-life balance. Lots of opportunities for upward mobility. You are empowered to make the best decisions for your sales (you don't need a manager for every little thing).

    Cons

    You don't really get paid for how hard you work and raises leave something to be desired. They focus too hard on rewards card applications and not enough on customer service - meaning even if you have a big client base and consistently go above and beyond sales goals it's really hard to get any recognition for your effort if you don't sell a lot of Macy's cards.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-11-10
  6. "Positive environment, lots of opportunity for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Computer-based scheduling- can select days off online in advance and easily schedule PTO, easy to advance to management positions if you show interest and maintain a positive attitude, friendly and approachable management

    Cons

    Just like any retail job, the hours are horrendous...difficult to balance work and life, but should be expected in the world of retail.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-09-04
  7. "Macy's is a less than perfect place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitting Room Attendant in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The tasks are simple to complete

    Cons

    Standing on your feet for whole shift

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-08-22
  8. "Employees are not valued."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, flexible scheduling,

    Cons

    managers don't listen to employee feedback, little respect shown to employees, poor communication at all levels, little upward mobility, employees are graded weekly by sales and credit results, raises infrequent, company values leave much to be desired

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-02-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "I was in charge of counting thousands of dollars in the store vault before the store opened to customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AST in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is not too challenging to get a job. I was hired 2 years after boating my bachelor's degree.

    Cons

    Terribly low respect for employees. Work availability & personal dignity are ignored. Terrible pay. Typical poverty wages multimillion dollar retail businesses pay. Threatened by intelligent workers. I felt sad for the other kind-hearted & hard working associates. You stand on your feet for 7+ hours. Have no benefits. Work each holiday & are assumed to possibly steal. I left to get a master's degree out of state. I now refuse to shop there knowing how poorly they treat good people. Especially since I know EXACTLY how much the stores make per day.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-01-05
  10. Helpful (8)

    "The "future" Macy's ...go into it with no illusions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The technology is terrific, gives them a real advantage vs. competitors. The product mix is a 4 on a scale of 1-5 for their target customer. Marketing powerful. Pretty much strong points operational or content related.

    Cons

    Macys has been very smart at exploiting the current economic climate. Low wages, no real investment in training other than online "POS" training. Claim they are "driven by customer service" but really only 4 out of 10 customers really are assisted in their shopping experience but Macy's communicates as though it is paramount to them. Credit is a major priority which I get but standing at the POS is pretty much an assuredly of success in the Macy's scorecard. Some smart people decided a while ago that if you pay associates next to nothing, reward them for credit (involves getting mostly Macy's money which must be spent on Macy's merchandise and can only be counted toward 1/2 the purchase) and virtually disengage from any associate coaching or development the high turnover rate can be rationalized.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2013-10-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 34 reviews