Macy's Reviews in Louisiana | Glassdoor

Macy's Louisiana Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
8 Ratings
  1. "Worst Experience Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Worked with some wonderful people and gained some lifelong friends.

    Cons

    I could go on for hours at all the things wrong with that store. The managers picked favorites and if they didn't like you they would do anything to make your life hell. You would get yelled at in front of customers if your phone rang more than twice even if you where with a customer. If you where sick and needed to leave and then had a day or two off the managers would question what you did when you where off and... if you where really sick. It was the most stressful job I have ever worked and it mad me ridiculously sick from being stressed so much. I would never suggest working at Macy's to anyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop picking favorites and treat everyone the same way.

    Macy's2017-11-27
  2. "Receiving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receiving in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn about the retail industry. Paid breaks.

    Cons

    Pay is not great, and not enough hours if you're Flex. Get a second job.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Macy's2017-09-20
  3. "Terrible 1st floor new Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lafayette, LA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in Scheduling, Store employee discounts.

    Cons

    Change over in 1st floor management has taken a turn for the worst. She is very sneeky, moody, rude, and inconsistent at setting and inforcing rules. I wouldn't treat a stray dog the way she treats some of the employees and customers.

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved in everyday activities.

    Macy's2017-03-11
  4. "Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment Great flexibility with hours Great work/life balance Meeting and connecting with new people Very easy task

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to grow within company

    Macy's2016-11-16
  5. "O.K."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work during school. Flexible hours depending on department

    Cons

    Hard to stay busy when things get slow.

    Macy's2016-11-16
  6. "Nice experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fine Jewelry Specialist in Kenner, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was quick and easy everybody is nice the store is really upscale. Training doesn't take that long.

    Cons

    No cons about this company everything is pretty good have no problems at all

    Macy's2016-08-24
  7. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lafayette, LA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great discount, flexible hours, and nice staff

    Cons

    I have no cons for this job I truly enjoyed it

    Macy's2016-08-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Wish it was as glamorous as they make it sound."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Women's Shoe Sales Associate in Metairie, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Generally good co-workers. Good managers when they stay. Paid time off/ leave is very generous for a part time employees. Online schedule helps with avoiding missing a shift.

    Cons

    Poor managers and obvious favorites. Unreasonable sales expectations. Unreasonable management, particularly upper management who will put people onto the schedule when they weren't initially assigned a shift and then won't contact the employee to notify them of change. Will then let people go because they have "missed too many days of work." Managers take no responsibility for their actions and will blame employees... to avoid looking the fool.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow upper management yo actually meet sales people and not just managers since the managers are not truthful in disclosing customer needs. Have a more strenuous screening process for managers and a better system for Human resources. The manager was never available and always either at her other store or on vacation with no way to do anything until she returned or no offered way to do anything.

    Macy's2016-08-25
  9. "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Decent hours, decent management, nice staff area, professional co-workers

    Cons

    Rather subjective pay and commission rates

    Macy's2016-07-24
  10. "Amazing people welcoming environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can be your own person you dont have put on an act

    Cons

    Theres no challenges unless you make it had for your self

    Macy's2016-07-22
Found 64 reviews