Macy's Reviews in Louisiana | Glassdoor

Macy's Louisiana Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
8 Ratings
  1. "Love it great people and great structure. The higher-up executives build you and train you for the next step!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Ambassador in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great people!

    Cons

    The attendance point system

    Advice to Management

    Actively supervise, and delegate wisely

    Macy's2015-01-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "bad communication little respect for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    casual laid back work environment. not much to be excited about keep your points up and come to work and you will be fine. not a great place in general.

    Cons

    no respect for employees. horrible work life balance long horrible hours pretty thankless attitude tom management not for anon other than entry level. low pay for the amount of work required.

    Advice to Management

    respect your employees. try to

    Macy's2015-01-14
  3. "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Macys is a wonderful company,I really enjoy it,friendly people,all around good experiene.You are valued as an employee

    Cons

    Lack of supervision,not enough management on the sales floor to monitor employee activity

    Macy's2014-12-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good for college/high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Caisher in Kenner, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Easy job. Nice coworkers. No brainer job

    Cons

    Low pay. Not worth the time

    Advice to Management

    they dont care.

    Macy's2014-12-15
  5. "Retail Commisioned Sales Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commissioned Sales Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Helpful employees from managers to sales associates to new hires, working with the public.

    Cons

    Lack of secured hours, having to hope to pick up hours.

    Advice to Management

    Schedule more secure hours.

    Macy's2014-11-23
  6. "Decent for a retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule; ability to give away shifts or call out online; closing and opening only take 15 minutes each

    Cons

    Can be hard to get hours if you're not full time; pressure to open credit cards for customers; the "score card" that affects pay raises is unreasonable (for instance, have to get 166% of your sales goal to get credit for it. why is there even a goal if you have to get that much over 100%?)

    Macy's2014-04-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex Schedule is the best idea this company could have come up with. It allows you to build your own schedule to have a better work life balance. Majority of the sales team members take pride in there areas, and their jobs. The team I work with makes it a fun productive work day. Last, but not least the discount and sales are awesome!!!!!! You can't beat them, I think I fare better here than at walmart!

    Cons

    Pay, the pay is better than minimum wage, but not quite enough if you your are trying to take care of a family on your own

    Advice to Management

    Hands on managers make the best manager, I understand logistics are an important part of the job, but see my manager on the floor with me when things get rough is awesome!!

    Macy's2013-11-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "I would never work for them anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Alexandria, LA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to purchase items on clearance and full price anytime ,the managers were nice with us and understood our needs

    Cons

    No opportunity to grow , not flexible at all ,low pay for the work we did .we were like robots working around the clock " when they needed us"

    Advice to Management

    Give more flexibility !!!!!

    Macy's2013-10-20
  9. "Ok thru out the year except during Holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA

    I have been working at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    scheduling is somewhat flexible for part time and flex employees

    Cons

    Holidays are Hectic. each year they open earlier and earlier. No time to spend with family

    Macy's2013-10-18
  10. "I learned plenty with fragrances and cosmetics, I love matching makeup and performing makeovers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Fragrance and Cosmetics Sales in Baton Rouge, LA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    During the holiday season it si very busy and which earn plenty of commission, one of co-workers commission alone $900 alone for one week.

    Cons

    the hours could be better

    Macy's2013-09-20
Found 64 reviews