Macy's Reviews in Louisiana | Glassdoor

Macy's Louisiana Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
23%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
8 Ratings
  1. "Nice Place to work for extra cash/Between School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Metairie, LA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling if given enough time, Friendly ppl

    Cons

    slightly above min wage, not a place for true growth

    Macy's2013-07-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers and decent managers and merchandise

    Cons

    No pay raise, had to push company credit card.

    Macy's2013-06-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Ok for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Metairie, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Manager (in my case) Great discount on already discounted items Fun coworkers

    Cons

    Expect way too much from sales associates Not understanding of sales associate's lives Ridiculous cent raises

    Advice to Management

    Remember that sales associates are only human and have lives outside of work! School is important and should be taken into account when making schedules. Raises need to be more than a mere 15-25 cents.

    Macy's2013-05-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Fun, fast-paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On-Call Sales Associate in Kenner, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with hours, excellent employee discount, fun people to work with

    Cons

    The attendance credit system could be better, sometimes you have to stay later if others decide to not show up

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps let employees earn attendance credits for staying past their scheduled shift

    Macy's2013-03-09
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Specialist at Macy's - Lakeside Mall - Metairie, LA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Pay, Benefits, Hours, Bonuses, Discount, Macy's Money, Contest, Awards, Recognition.

    Cons

    Management's lack of knowledge, Lazy managers, Confusion, Internal Theft, The store manager, several EIC's and lazy co-workers.

    Advice to Management

    Whatever you don't know, research and find the answer! Stop harassing me about "loyalties"! Stop sitting your behind down in the office all day, pick up the EIC phone when we call. Make yourself available when we need you. Stop upholding employees when you know that they are wrong. Appreciate your hard working employees and stop the gossiping! Your a MANAGER, your supposed to keep that out of the work place. I don't... care if your getting married and trying to buy a house that's why I need to make sure i make my sales goal and get said loyalties so you can get your bonus! Maybe, just maybe if you become more hands on and assist us on the sales floor, than your department will do great and than you'll make your quota so you can get your bonus. P.S. To the new store manager: PLEASE STOP with all the unnecessary announcements on the intercom! Get up out the office and walk through your store! Get to know your employees, respect us and our work that we do. Be more careful of the words you speak!! Make sure your Managers have the proper training!

    Show More
    Macy's2013-02-14
  6. "A Good part-Time Holiday Gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-Time Sales Associate in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mostly flexible hours, weekly paychecks, employee discount, paid training hours, most people are pleasant to work with

    Cons

    Dress code- unless you wear all black all the time, you'll have to buy some new clothes which consumes some of your 1st weeks pay. Pay is barely over minimum wage for non-commissioned employees.

    Advice to Management

    Increase non-commissioned pay for people who need jobs but have to adhere to your nice, albeit gothic dress code.

    Macy's2013-01-18
  7. "So much potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount, Macy Money, Coworkers, Mall, Schedule

    Cons

    Management was just terrible, They made Macy's unbearable

    Advice to Management

    The management will make you believe when you first get hired that its and awesome place to work and you are a valuable macys associate. But in reality, they dont care one bit about you or your job, they will fire you at the drop of a hat. Ive seen them hire seasonal workers the day before christmas and fired them the day after christmas. The management is just terrible. If it wernt for management and their horrible... ways of doing things, the place would be great.

    Show More
    Macy's2013-01-18
  8. "not enough reconigition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Sales Manager in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great vacation package for 8 yrs. of service

    Cons

    didn't pay sales associates well and expexted a lot of productivity

    Macy's2013-01-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Compensation is minimal, but makes up through Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great personal benefits, such as PTO and Holiday pay

    Cons

    Low hourly compensation. Can be inconsistent with policies and procedures

    Advice to Management

    More thorough and consistent in in store operations

    Macy's2012-12-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "On-call (flex) sales positions are great for students or people with a full time job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flex Team Sales Associate in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great (new) scheduling system, yearly pay raises based on performance, great work environment, great customers

    Cons

    It takes a lot for them to fire someone, which results in a lot of incompetent managers and associates.

    Macy's2012-08-16
Found 64 reviews