Macy's Reviews in Louisville, KY | Glassdoor

Macy's Louisville Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1 Ratings
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Macy's is a great company. There are always extra deals for employees and discounts. They have flexible hours and schedules. And there are normally really nice people that work with you.

    Cons

    I can't really think of any specific thing i disliked about Macy's. I think there should be more room for advancement. But other than that its overall a good company.

    Macy's2015-12-22
  2. "receiving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice people to work with on the dock

    Cons

    treated poorly by management and employees in other areas

    Advice to Management

    will not take anyway

    Macy's2018-12-08
  3. "Asset Protection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Protection Detective in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Work around my schedule okay pay for college students. The job itself is a lot of fun!

    Cons

    The company was going through changes in AP and Operations, it affected how things were flowing for Asset Protection in some locations.

    Macy's2018-10-28
  4. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - COSMETICS in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount is okay, could be better

    Cons

    Company doesn't care about you

    Macy's2017-03-28
  5. "I enjoyed it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get 3 percent commission plus an hourly rate of 9 an hour so it's pretty nice. Around Christmas your paycheck will double due to commission.

    Cons

    You have to have a Macys credit card in order to get the 20 percent off associate discount. They press you hard to get customers to open up credit cards but you are rewarded in Macys money when they open one.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication would be nice

    Macy's2017-02-13
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Louisville, KY

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met great people and was able to work on my sales skills.

    Cons

    Major push to sell credit all the time even on slow days. Some sales associates don't pull their weight.

    Advice to Management

    Be leaders not managers.

    Macy's2016-10-14
  7. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Louisville, KY

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good health benefits, 20% discount

    Cons

    Long distance to drive to work.

    Macy's2016-09-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "stay far away from Macys louisville,KY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate In Macy's in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    decent discount and some added incentives.

    Cons

    Rude managers (and everyone over 35 years old is a manager and they will put that badge in your face and let you know it) I worked at the off side location with a very rude lady that liked to clap her hands at you if you did anything wrong. Also could not use the phone without her explicit permission. Just horrible personality and no one at either store can stand her.

    Advice to Management

    PLEASE don't keep a person around forever just because they have been there a long time. Really stop and look at what they do ask their peers and get the real truth.

    Macy's2016-02-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Macy's Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Management in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Work with a lot of cool people.

    Cons

    Work with dishonest, disgruntled, management members who look for the bad in people instead of the good.

    Advice to Management

    Hire college graduates only into management, similar to Enterprise Rent A Car

    Macy's2015-12-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Merchant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's

    Pros

    I have nothing posting to say about working at macys. They do not care about the loyal employees and have been here for years. Why is there a cap on raises when you are loyal and work hard?

    Cons

    Macy's doesn't care about employees. The support team gets nothing. While sales people get macys money and other perks that support does not.

    Advice to Management

    My superviser does not keep me informed as to when trucks are and how much will be on the trucks. I ask daily for sales in my dept and any information to boost my sales. The sales people the are hiring are lazy and on there cell phones or they are walking around with hands in there pockets. And if you ask them to recover, they just stare at you. I have called EIC to get help with this matter. Still nothing gets done....

    Show More
    Macy's2015-08-13
Found 29 reviews