Find jobs for Manager

Macy's Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
43%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
226 Ratings
  1. "Excellent company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CEO, Vision, Merchandise, Fairness, Compensation

    Cons

    At times too political. Last boss not the best which is why I left.

    Macy's2020-02-20
  2. "Macy's is mostly great to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Workforce Manager in New Hartford, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Macy's is passionate about their colleagues and has their the colleagues best interest in mind when making most decisions. Management leaders communicate well with the total organization. I am allowed to work remotely, and they are flexible when I need to work from home, or take time off during the day for an appointment. They are GREAT with mobility within the company, both laterally and upward.

    Cons

    Every January/February, we have a re-structuring of some sort where colleagues are severed from the company. It's an incredibly stressful time, wondering if you will be let go, and finding out who is being let go. This includes stores being closed.

    Macy's2020-06-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Women's Department Manager in Appleton, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling that allows you to work to live, not live to work. And have a life outside of work

    Cons

    It takes forever to accrue vacation time

    Macy's2020-05-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Place to Work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Pittsburgh, PA

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Guaranteed Work, Very Busy All Day, Decent Pay and Benefits

    Cons

    Back-biting, Gossiping Disorganized and Snitching Encouraged

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-28
  5. "Poor management"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I developed my customer service skills while in this position.

    Cons

    Poor management, unrealistic requests prohibiting work/life balance, no trust among employees

    Macy's2020-05-30
  6. "Great place but poor leadership"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work / life balance

    Cons

    Upper Management, does not listen to the people doing the work anymore.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-26
  7. "Worst job ever in life"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Tucker, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers appreciate your assistant when finding items

    Cons

    Management /hr needs better training

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-06
  8. "Many great years, but too old and too slow to keep up with the changes in the world."

    3.0
    Former Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, ability to change roles within org

    Cons

    constant layoffs, no strategy, expected ecommerce to support the failing stores (without making any changes to the stores)

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-20
  9. "Great work environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    team members become like family

    Cons

    lack of communication can cause workloads to be harder

    Macy's2020-05-04
  10. "Hard Company to Work For; Under Appreciated"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Northeast, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good discount, usually good sense of teamwork amongst Sales Managers and selling Supervisors. MTMs and OPS typically try and treat group poorly (I was very tenured with company and worked in 4 stores for a lot of years-left on my own without being reduced, so not bitter). You will learn good retail standards working for a Macy’s.

    Cons

    Long hours, especially during holidays. Lots of weekend obligations and late nights. With fewer managers in stores over the years, less people to switch with. Went to teams and Store Managers started wanting you to switch only with your team which literally was 1-2 people, so while they opened schedules greatly for associates, continued to beat managers down with schedule. Only viewed as promotable if you agree to move, and that could mean cross country. I was a highly awarded manager, trained numerous managers, but would have never been considered for a store manager, as they tend to have a career path you must follow. Sales Manager, MTM, District Team, then possibly Asst Store Manager/Ops and then your own store, but the problem is, jobs were constantly being lost, so no one really ever had a chance to shine. Regional Team visits could be brutal...I was in stores big enough to get major corporate visits and observing the way very senior management spoke to their subordinates was really inappropriate.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-15
Found 1464 reviews