Macy's Reviews in Manassas, VA | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Macy's Manassas Reviews

Updated Aug 24, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, great employee discounts

    Cons

    Management doesn't take the time to get to know everyone

    Advice to Management

    The new hire on boarding could be better

    Macy's2016-06-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Ok job for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was easy to obtain additional hours and the training was helpful.

    Cons

    The pay was horrible.

    Macy's2017-08-25
  3. "Rude management, no proper training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was okay, but I never got to use my discount cause it had some restrictions. I don't have much of a positive experience.

    Cons

    I didn't like that I had to find people to work for me during breaks. Some days I had to ask around like 5 people to let me go on break. The same with going home. One day I asked the manager to find someone to work during my break and he told me that he gets to decide if I get any break or not. And that he decided that I get 10 mins instead of 15 mins you normally get. And that I should go and ask the person who had... no idea how to work at the register! It was such a horrible moment, he truly treated me like a trash. I can't even go to MACY's anymore that's how unpleasant the whole experience was.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually do your job and study your workers schedule. And send people to cover for them on breaks!

    Macy's2017-04-11
  4. "Overworked and Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Macys Sales Associate in Manassas, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees were super nice, office culture

    Cons

    Poor pay, rude customers, short breaks

    Macy's2015-01-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad gained plenty of experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Manassas, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can swap hours with your department associates making it pretty nice, they politely ask you to cover extra hours if they are short on staff.

    Cons

    If they need help they hire whatever they can get their hands on. They make associates compete against each other rather than aiding one another with the sales goal and other score related junk.

    Advice to Management

    Hire based on experience and personality, if you find anyone taking their job a bit less than seriously, don't hesitate to fire him/her. I personally witnessed some of them show up and get paid and they did nearly nothing.

    Macy's2013-05-28
  6. "Macy's good be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Manassas, VA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's

    Pros

    Most Employee's are friendly and work well together.

    Cons

    Store conditions could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Work more with employee's to achieve effective work/life balance. Seems Macy's is quick to take more from employee's without considering the employee's life outside of the store.

    Macy's2011-05-26
  7. "It's Alright."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Specialist in Manassas, VA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's

    Pros

    Working at macy's isn't too bad. the people are nice, but the pay is sub par. you can make more at target, or even petco being a cashier than being an associate at macy's.

    Cons

    management. management isn't responsible or active enough.

    Advice to Management

    learn your job.

    Macy's2011-03-01
Found 7 reviews