Macy's Marketing Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Marketing Manager

Macy's Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated May 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
5 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Search Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing group of people, I have made many friends there

    Cons

    Bureaucracy

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-06-15
  2. "Good company, environment starting to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work life balance, benefits, fellow colleagues

    Cons

    lack of growth opportunities, politics

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-05-07
  3. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Team Orientated environment and able to move around to different positions

    Cons

    Salary is low from being there too long, environment and rapport can be poor with management.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-03-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It's what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Your work will always impact millions of customers Opportunity to move across departments Being part of a legacy brand with such a strong influence in culture

    Cons

    Very beurocratic, lots of red tape everywhere Young, forward-thinking people are the minority

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-05-23
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Not the same company it was! (Marketing dept)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager (Marketing) in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great vacation policy, allows to work from home, casual dress, part of a heritage organization will give you a lot of pride. Awesome discount. Made great, lifelong friends in my time there. Most of Senior Leadership is very qualified to be in their position and extremely knowledgeable. Some people who work there are truly great and talented, unfortunately, it is only about 50/50. Overall: This is a good entry level and associate level company, I do not recommend anyone with significant experience to join as you will not be able to move up quickly and will get frustrated by other peoples' incompetence. The new CMO is truly trying to make positive changes and it seems like things are getting better from a quality of life standpoint, but layoffs still continue and the Marketing department has yet to run smoothly.

    Cons

    People: Half of employees likely got hired too quickly, were not properly trained, and do not care about their work. I feel like more than half the people I encountered were unprofessional, did not respond to emails, did not follow direction, and could not meet any timelines. There are many people to specialize in each job, therefore, there is a great lack of ownership with people unwilling to take responsibility or learn how to do anything else. There are absolutely no consequences for lack of performance and people become lazy and know they could work below average and still keep their jobs. A lot of throwing under the bus. Sub par work is accepted, easy to skate by. HR: Misleading, not on your side, unable to make any real changes. Most HR will lie to you about job advancement and tell you things can not be done, and then you see they are done in other departments. People really only move up by being lucky, in the right place at the right time. Leadership: People are seen more as pawns. Working hard and performing highly will only hurt you as leadership will put you in positions of greater responsibility, laterally, that may have nothing to do with your career goals. It does not matter if you enjoy your job. At this point, it's a race to the top to get laid off. Layoffs: More and more each year, people that have worked hard for years with the company are now considered overhead. Job security is at a minimum in senior roles. At first layoffs were good, got rid of people who had been there too long and unable to grow or change. Now it is based on cutting corners and high salaries. Salaries: Greatly higher if you come from outside of the company, rather than getting a raise. HR likely has much more money to give for raises or promotions but are reluctant unless they fear you will leave.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-10-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good work life balance, lacks strong leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, flex time, employee discount, friendly work environment

    Cons

    Lack strong leadership and subject matter experts across different disciplines. Difficult to respect leaders who don't have the right experience to lead. Macy's is a advocate for filling roles from within, however this can be detrimental in growing our company and being innovative to keep up with competition.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-11-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid Macys. It's a sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee discount and good work/life balance...that is about it.

    Cons

    HR is useless. No advancement. Horrendous benefits (especially Health). Pay is significantly below industry standards.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-08-02
  8. "Good While It Lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The weekly pay, discounts on their goods and ability to easily advertise your shifts to others and pick up additional shifts provides flexibility.

    Cons

    They use a point system for attendance. Call off a week day lose a point, a weekend lose 2 and the worst part is you can only earn one point a month if you never call out. Very difficult to balance as a full time student when they told me they would help accommodate. Managers think they are hot stuff and I often felt like I was being talked down to as an associate, even though it was a part time job while I went full time in college.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2016-02-17
  9. "Macy's corporate is a good place to work and build a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    summer fridays, sample sales, flex hours

    Cons

    company policies change by senior manager, some allow work from home and flex hours and some do not.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2015-01-14
  10. "Nice company, better than most, but still needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Trying to innovate in retail space, friendly associates

    Cons

    Overworked employees, open all the time, even on holidays, work/life balance doesn't matter to GM's or senior managers.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2015-01-14
Found 14 reviews