Macy's Reviews in Memphis, TN | Glassdoor

Macy's Memphis Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
5 Ratings
  1. "retail manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Paint Sales Associate in Memphis, TN

      I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Love there discounts and employees

      Cons

      Working holidays and weekends

      Macy's2017-03-08
    • "(MTM) Merchandise Team Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Merchandising Manager in Memphis, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      If you’re young (under the age of 35) you stand a chance of possibly being being successful and having the opportunity to advance towards being a VPSM (Store Manager). I’ve been in the Retail Industry for almost 30 years and have met some really fantastic colleagues and leaders. At Macy’s that’s no exception, Macy’s is truly a very diverse and inclusive company to work for.

      Cons

      Macy’s is ever evolving and really only wants young blood as their store leaders regardless of your talents and work experience. I have an extensive and diverse retail management work experience and was led to believe that I could have my own box rather quickly. I was brought into the company as a Sales Manager and was promoted to MTM quickly after only 10 months. I was being groomed to be promoted once again until our...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Macy’s needs to look past age and go by talent and experience when selecting its leaders. You’re pushing out really smart, hard working Leaders with outstanding work ethics to bring some fresh kid out of school that are absolutely clueless. Good luck Macy’s you’re going to need it !!!!!!!

      Macy's2018-09-26
    • "Area Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Area Manager in Memphis, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great business administration and mamagement education.

      Cons

      Not appreciated by upper management.

      Advice to Management

      Appreciate your employees.

      Macy's2018-05-24
    • "Don't do it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Fine Jewelry Sales Associate in Memphis, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Macy's full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Most of the employees are nice. Notice I said most.

      Cons

      long hours, no breaks, low paying for the amount of work, not being allowed to sit down even after many hours, your personal belongings go in a communal closet, the only refrigerator is in the basement so if you work on the third floor at least 15 minutes of your break are taken up searching for your food, if it's still there. Verbal abuse and little training. You are thrown out on the floor by yourself with no help...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Fill positions. Trying to help customers in other departments while leaving your department uncovered will result in customer complaints and more

      Macy's2018-04-23
    • "A review of Macy's part-time seasonal employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Merchandiser in Memphis, TN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Macy's part-time

      Pros

      Overall, I had a great experience as a seasonal employee. Everyone (senior management to associates) was welcoming. I didn't feel out of place.

      Cons

      The rate of pay could be a little higher considering the amount of work that has to be done.

      Advice to Management

      At this location, management was great. They kept the team motivated and excited. If there was anything negative said, it didn't reach the sales associate.

      Macy's2018-01-25
    • "Area Sales Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Memphis, TN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Macy's full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      competitive salary and advancement opportunities

      Cons

      hours and staffing / work/life balance

      Macy's2018-01-12
    • "Horrible management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Memphis, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Macy's full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Decent pay in cosmetics

      Cons

      Lifting boxes, taking boxes to trash compactor in a disgusting area, management adds hours to your schedule without asking you, incompetent management who don’t know anything

      Advice to Management

      Obtain some people skills and understand that employees are not robots and your business is only as good as we are

      Macy's2017-10-29
    • "Pretty ok job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Support in Memphis, TN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Macy's part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Nice benefits on the store products.

      Cons

      The management had a couple of problems here and there.

      Macy's2017-06-12
    • "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Macy's part-time

      Pros

      Flexible Online Scheduling so that you can swap, advertise shifts, or call out ability to pick up shifts in other areas to learn new skills associate discounts

      Cons

      Management changes often Holiday hours and Black Friday is inflexible You have to use a Macy's card to get the discount

      Advice to Management

      Better communication between management and staff

      Macy's2016-10-31
    • "Shoe expediter"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shoe Expeditor in Memphis, TN

      I worked at Macy's part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great discount, & you get a chance to see all the new merchandise before it gets picked over. You get paid weekly.

      Cons

      The manager over the particular department (I was a shoe expediter) I worked in did not care that I hadn't been properly & efficiently trained. I wasn't scheduled, unless I picked up shifts from coworkers. My first day, I was just thrown to the wolves.

      Advice to Management

      Make sure your new associates are thoroughly trained and are comfortable doing their job. Management needs to be more hands on with their new associates.

      Macy's2016-09-28
    Found 34 reviews