Macy's Reviews in Metairie, LA | Glassdoor

Macy's Metairie Reviews

Updated 10 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
4 Ratings
  1. "Seasonal Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Security Officer in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was low for biggest shopping season of the year.

    Cons

    Standing should be limited to 1 hour for security and associates.

    Advice to Management

    Raise pay per hour for seasonal employees. Include them in contest.

    Macy's2018-04-13
  2. "Most Holiday Hire Associates pay is low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for advancement Fun environment Flexible schedule Employee benefits and discounts

    Cons

    Point system for attendence

    Advice to Management

    Increase Associate pay Remove point system for attendance

    Macy's2019-04-11
  3. "Fired by In-Site!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - FWT in Metairie, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Easy scheduling system, free parking

    Cons

    Unprofessional, cold I unfortunately did not work enough hours last quarter and I was terminated. I learned of my termination by a message on In-Site! No one had the courtesy or professionalism to tell me in person or even by phone. As a FWT, I was not given a review or a pay raise for the last 3 years.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that your employees are living, breathing human beings with feelings. Yes, we know that retail employees are a dime-a-dozen, and that you can easily find replacements. But we have dedicated many years of our lives working for your company, missed lots of events with family and friends, especially at Thanksgiving and Christmas. You have never said thanks. Also remember we have families to support. ... "How you fire an employee is incredibly important. Do not fire an employee using any electronic method—no emails, IMs, voicemails, or phone calls. Even a letter is inappropriate when you fire an employee. When you fire an employee, give them the courtesy that you would extend to any human being. They deserve a face-to-face meeting. Nothing else works."

    Show More
    Macy's2019-02-13
  4. "Customer Service Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    The company gives discounts to family and friends

    Cons

    not enough hours to go around

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Macy's2017-11-14
  5. "Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment Great flexibility with hours Great work/life balance Meeting and connecting with new people Very easy task

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to grow within company

    Macy's2016-11-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Wish it was as glamorous as they make it sound."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Women's Shoe Sales Associate in Metairie, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Generally good co-workers. Good managers when they stay. Paid time off/ leave is very generous for a part time employees. Online schedule helps with avoiding missing a shift.

    Cons

    Poor managers and obvious favorites. Unreasonable sales expectations. Unreasonable management, particularly upper management who will put people onto the schedule when they weren't initially assigned a shift and then won't contact the employee to notify them of change. Will then let people go because they have "missed too many days of work." Managers take no responsibility for their actions and will blame employees... to avoid looking the fool.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow upper management yo actually meet sales people and not just managers since the managers are not truthful in disclosing customer needs. Have a more strenuous screening process for managers and a better system for Human resources. The manager was never available and always either at her other store or on vacation with no way to do anything until she returned or no offered way to do anything.

    Macy's2016-08-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dont do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Women's Shoe Sales Associate in Metairie, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    flexible hours fun co-workers able to make overtime

    Cons

    Expected too much from employees for too little money (you are basically a mini manager) expected to a ridiculous amount of credit cards managers talk down to employees some managers aren't qualified to lead commission is rarely seen unless you take every customer that enters which is impossible when 5 people are working, especially on slow days

    Advice to Management

    better management training

    Macy's2016-08-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Part time seasonal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Part Time Seasonal in Metairie, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    $3.00 Macy's Money when signing up someone for a credit card

    Cons

    Low Pay, managers who think they are better than you and treat you as such. Standing and lifting heavy objects and be ordered to "do this, do that." constantly. The "pre sales" where you have to sell something for a sale price that the customers cannot take home when they buy it. You sell the item, take it to the stock room which is crowded and unsafe, and then when the customer comes to pick it up, you have to go... back into the stock room and retrieve it. If items are heavy such as in housewares, it is really hard on employees. Management sucks at Macys

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees as you want to be treated!

    Macy's2016-01-31
  9. "Macy's Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Metairie, LA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    The training process was thorough. They pay you for the week that you train. The hiring manager was great and knowledgable.

    Cons

    The floor managers are lazy and irresponsible. Took three weeks for them to call me in and they states they buddies you with an employee for the first few hours. They did not do this.

    Advice to Management

    Don't work for Macy's . Their pay is horrible!!!

    Macy's2015-11-23
  10. "Merchandiser/Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Metairie, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They don't harass you while you work.

    Cons

    Lack of hours, inconsistent hours, no stability, they use you for there selfish needs, can not live off this job point blank.

    Advice to Management

    Be considerate of non-management employees, we can't live off 3 hours per week, then 0 hours the next week.

    Macy's2015-07-06
Found 16 reviews