Macy's Reviews in Michigan | Glassdoor

Macy's Michigan Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 195 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
15 Ratings
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Madison Heights, MI

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great co-workers that helped me learn everything and were patient with me

    Cons

    -Understaffed at times due to people calling out

    Advice to Management

    -Get more people to work at peak hours during weekends and evenings

    Macy's2019-04-10
  2. "Fun job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love working with different people helping them find what they need.

    Cons

    Not enough hours sometimes job is boring.

    Macy's2019-08-07
  3. "Loved working for Macy’s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice and professional team! Easy going. Reasonable hours and overtime.

    Cons

    Pay is entry level. No real incentives or benefits

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Macy's2019-07-24
  4. "Good Company but a Corporation All the Same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Saginaw, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, great employee's and my area manager was amazing and decent hours

    Cons

    horrible store manager, pushes you to open charges too much, did not pay a livable wage.

    Advice to Management

    pay your employee's what they're worth, stop handcuffing them by keeping fewer employee's on staff, and don't treat everyone like they're beneath you.

    Macy's2019-07-26
  5. "Gem of a Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Jewelry Supervisor in Dearborn, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team Support, if you needed assistance the other leaders would gladly lend a helping hand. I enjoyed my time with Macy's its a good company. Fun environment, always giving incentives to help in reaching store goals. The associates loved getting Macys money. Positive work culture. Employee discount was also a nice perk.

    Cons

    I can't really say anything that was "CON" other than its unfortunate that retail as a whole has been in a challenging situation with staffing.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to always be present for assistance with your team.

    Macy's2019-07-09
  6. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Sterling Heights, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free makeup and a decent commission

    Cons

    Horrible hourly pay and not much advancement opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees better

    Macy's2019-08-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent but sadly they pay too little."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales in Portage, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    They offer 20% employee discount even for items on clearance. Once a month, there's an extra 10% off event too. Managers emphasize making customers open macy's credit card but it's not that stressful and if you open an account, you will get some rewards too. Lots of colleagues have been working for long time like over 20 years. One day I saw one colleague who is 93 years old and someone who's been there for...

    Show More

    Cons

    They pay too little ($10.15 hourly) and they don't train new people properly. I had to ask every single colleague about each new situations. Plus, I've seen 2 old colleagues (looks like over 70 years old) got fired recently but nobody knows the reason. They must want only young people or people who can be quick enough like young people. Registers are very old school, hopefully they invest some money to change...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I appreciate that they help us out whether we are busy or not, but not for the sale manager. She never helps out.

    Macy's2019-06-23
  8. "Cool place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gate Agent in Wyoming, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The wages are pretty decent

    Cons

    Lack of development opportunities

    Macy's2019-06-04
  9. "Only a good job if it is full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flex Pricing in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays a tiny more than most retail

    Cons

    Not enough hours at all (literally 5 hours a week at times) Hard to get ahold of store Very unclear about details of job when hired

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the flex positions, it's a very unreliable source of income

    Macy's2019-05-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent work environment but doesn't pay enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Associate in Portage, MI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The break room is nice and has a tv with cable connection. The store is clean, and the merchandise is nice. Some of the people in management are very cool.

    Cons

    Ridiculously low pay. The process of locating and getting merchandise to fulfill online orders was absolutely ridiculous. Seems like a dreadful waste of time for the company. Problems with necessary technical devices at times too.

    Advice to Management

    You need to pay people much more, get better technology, and develop a much different system for fulfilling online orders from stores.

    Macy's2019-04-19
Found 195 reviews