Macy's Reviews in Michigan | Glassdoor

Macy's Michigan Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 196 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
16 Ratings
  1. "Support Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Associate in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team members and the manager were kind and good to work with, the job is not too hard but can require physical exertion. Depending on individual strengths, can be assigned to unloading boxes from the truck or something easier like attaching security devices to high value items. The pay is comparable to similar positions with other companies, but the employee discounts were pretty good.

    Cons

    Due to the hard times the company is dealing with as a brick and mortar retail business, getting employed full-time was nigh impossible; most of the other team members worked a second job

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-03-13
  2. "fulltime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    good health benefits from this company

    Cons

    micro managers, no team effort.

    Macy's2018-02-27
  3. "Average retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, recognition for job well done

    Cons

    Hours, a lot of employee turnover, retail hours

    Macy's2018-02-13
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Saginaw, MI

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You experience meeting and greeting wonderful customers while in a comfortable work environment.

    Cons

    The hours varied often because the department was understaffed which could lead to unemployment.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-02-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Novi, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    employee discount, fairly relaxed workplace, simple work

    Cons

    poor management, high management turnover, tedious and disorganized training, poorly trained administrative team, pay is not competitive with other retailers, poor communication throughout store

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-02-04
  6. "Great place to earn extra money at Christmas time!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Sterling Heights, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working there because the staff was very friendly and helpful. Macy's employees got %20 off of purchases which included purchases directly from Macy's and restaurants affiliated with Macy's. Getting 20% off allowed me to buy name brand items that normally I would not have thought about buying. (Some stuff was way out of price range without the percentage off.)

    Cons

    Excessive walking. Customers can return merchandise anywhere in the store. If they bought it in homed goods they can return it at a make-up counter. So, when this was done, it was our jobs to return the item to the appropriate department. At Christmas time, a lot of returns means a lot of walking all over the store....ugh!

    Macy's2018-01-21
  7. "Worked in the food and candy department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people were nice, we eventually got in some good management after going through people for awhile. Good discount. They’ll keep you around if you’re willing.

    Cons

    Low hours, high turnover rate, Not enough pay. Not enough room to move up when everyone isn’t sure whether your store is closing or not. You end up spending all your money.

    Macy's2017-11-18
  8. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bridal Consultant in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers care, great benefits and employee incentives

    Cons

    Sometimes you feel like a number, unorganized at times, understaffed

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-10-19
  9. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Merchandiser in Sterling Heights, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Macy’s offers a pretty good discount to their employees, when the friends and family discount is offered daring certain times of the year.

    Cons

    Managers will give hours to team members that are favored instead of equally. I worked there almost 3 years and was not offered a part time position.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-10-28
  10. "Beauty Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Novi, MI
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    associate discount, friendly coworkers interaction with clients

    Cons

    management at this location, outlook for brick and mortar stores makes business slow

    Macy's2017-09-15
Found 196 reviews