Macy's Reviews in New Orleans, LA | Glassdoor

Macy's New Orleans Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good for college/high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caisher in Kenner, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Easy job. Nice coworkers. No brainer job

    Cons

    Low pay. Not worth the time

    Advice to Management

    they dont care.

    Macy's2014-12-15
  2. "Retail Commisioned Sales Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commissioned Sales Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Helpful employees from managers to sales associates to new hires, working with the public.

    Cons

    Lack of secured hours, having to hope to pick up hours.

    Advice to Management

    Schedule more secure hours.

    Macy's2014-11-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Flex Schedule is the best idea this company could have come up with. It allows you to build your own schedule to have a better work life balance. Majority of the sales team members take pride in there areas, and their jobs. The team I work with makes it a fun productive work day. Last, but not least the discount and sales are awesome!!!!!! You can't beat them, I think I fare better here than at walmart!

    Cons

    Pay, the pay is better than minimum wage, but not quite enough if you your are trying to take care of a family on your own

    Advice to Management

    Hands on managers make the best manager, I understand logistics are an important part of the job, but see my manager on the floor with me when things get rough is awesome!!

    Macy's2013-11-26
  4. "Nice Place to work for extra cash/Between School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Metairie, LA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling if given enough time, Friendly ppl

    Cons

    slightly above min wage, not a place for true growth

    Macy's2013-07-31
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Ok for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Metairie, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great Manager (in my case) Great discount on already discounted items Fun coworkers

    Cons

    Expect way too much from sales associates Not understanding of sales associate's lives Ridiculous cent raises

    Advice to Management

    Remember that sales associates are only human and have lives outside of work! School is important and should be taken into account when making schedules. Raises need to be more than a mere 15-25 cents.

    Macy's2013-05-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Fun, fast-paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On-Call Sales Associate in Kenner, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with hours, excellent employee discount, fun people to work with

    Cons

    The attendance credit system could be better, sometimes you have to stay later if others decide to not show up

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps let employees earn attendance credits for staying past their scheduled shift

    Macy's2013-03-09
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Sales Specialist at Macy's - Lakeside Mall - Metairie, LA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Benefits, Hours, Bonuses, Discount, Macy's Money, Contest, Awards, Recognition.

    Cons

    Management's lack of knowledge, Lazy managers, Confusion, Internal Theft, The store manager, several EIC's and lazy co-workers.

    Advice to Management

    Whatever you don't know, research and find the answer! Stop harassing me about "loyalties"! Stop sitting your behind down in the office all day, pick up the EIC phone when we call. Make yourself available when we need you. Stop upholding employees when you know that they are wrong. Appreciate your hard working employees and stop the gossiping! Your a MANAGER, your supposed to keep that out of the work place. I don't care...

    Show More
    Macy's2013-02-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Compensation is minimal, but makes up through Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great personal benefits, such as PTO and Holiday pay

    Cons

    Low hourly compensation. Can be inconsistent with policies and procedures

    Advice to Management

    More thorough and consistent in in store operations

    Macy's2012-12-26
  9. "Rewarding and a Learning experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Variety of merchandise, customer discounts, employee discounts. DM's were great to work with.

    Cons

    More employee recognition as well as sales mgr. recognition. Acess to Senior Mgr & HR without fear of intimidation.

    Advice to Management

    Open door policy that Macys once had to come back. Recognize and work along with your managers and associates.

    Macy's2012-03-28
  10. "Really Fun and Fast pace place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Discount is amazing!!! Job is pretty laid back and fun

    Cons

    Always working a weekend and holiday

    Macy's2011-10-21
Found 30 reviews