Macy's Philadelphia Reviews

Updated Apr 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
37%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
25 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The workers there are so nice. When I started working there I wasn't sure of how things ran, but from the help of some workers, they made the process so much easier.

    Cons

    The pay could be better, but you shouldn't expect much from a part-time job.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-02-01
  2. "Macys- Langhorne"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Langhorne, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly management and co- workers

    Cons

    Customers. While some customers are great, others can be very trying on your patience. Very low pay and raises are basically non-existent.

    Macy's2020-04-16
  3. "Good place to work but not to grove"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can somewhat manage your schedule and pick up extra hours Safe environment People are super friendly

    Cons

    Can't really grove Management sometimes ignores suggestions Manager requires hours that you can't give during holidays

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-03-23
  4. "Nice coworkers and bad management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are nice to work with, always willing to help.

    Cons

    Sales are very slow so you have a lot of free time

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-02-05
  5. "Friendly work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Associate in Philadelphia, PA

    I worked at Macy's for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co-worker, management that listens, culture of inclusion.

    Cons

    Poor benefits, in some departments you are paid on commission.

    Macy's2020-01-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "They want you to do all kinds of work but dont want to pay you."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discounts,working at the mall.meeting new people.

    Cons

    They do not pay you what your worth

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-01-27
  7. "Cashier"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Wilmington, DE

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Macy’s a good job get some great work

    Cons

    Not a enough hours cool job be at

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-12-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible environment and declining pay"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Jewelry Sales Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule that also allows hours to be picked up in authorized departments. Employee discount and some vendor incentives on specific items. cons: Horrible hours during the holidays and the customers have become more abusive, demanding and rude as time passes. Declining sales and stores closing nationwide.

    Cons

    Overall declining what once was a good department store. Employees are exhausted and mistreated.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-12-01
  9. "Good Job"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Springfield, PA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hours tend to be pretty flexible

    Cons

    The pay is not great at all

    Macy's2019-10-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Full Time Sales Associate"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I literally cannot think of any pros to this awful job

    Cons

    scheduling is a disaster, no one works in your department besides u, the security doesn’t care what happens, the managers avoid being on the floor all day and only come to you to give u negative demeaning feedback, ur goals cannot be met no matter how hard u try, u never get properly trained, may i go on? and i got forced to work in a department that i didn’t want to work in

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-10-29
Found 256 reviews