Macy's Phoenix Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
3 Ratings
  1. "customer service representative"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    they have good benefits, good schedule is fun work with them

    Cons

    nothing I love it is fun work in that place

    Macy's2018-08-08
  2. "Wonderful Place to Work During the Holidays"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - My Stylist Holiday Assistant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Community of wonderful people, smiles,food,contests and festive fun.

    Cons

    Minimum wage and way too much polyester.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-21
  3. "Sales manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great fashion and assortment. Associates worked very hard.

    Cons

    Did not have to many. Good place to work.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-11-16
  4. "Great Place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great HR Service if you are sick

    Cons

    None to say for a starting job

    Macy's2019-07-25
  5. "Winter Seasonal Sales Associate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, Nice coworkers, Decent hours

    Cons

    I very clearly told HR and my manager my end-date during my interview because I knew I would not be working the full holiday season (only working over my university's Winter Break) and yet I was repeatedly asked my end-date and subsequently met with angry reactions even though I was very clear and upfront. Sounds like a lack of organization behind closed doors. I also had no opportunity to do any commission-based work, which would have been nice.

    Macy's2019-01-24
  6. "Shoe sales associate. Commission"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Commission able to be made while working in shoe department. Flexible hours. Fun part time job but hard to get full time hours

    Cons

    Sales goals are hard to meet. Full time hours are hard to get. Managers are hard to deal with. High turnover

    Macy's2018-04-26
  7. "Macy's workplace has potential but lacks goodchanges for the workers."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of time offered off. Great for student's.

    Cons

    Terrible benefits. Almost none and favoritism.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-09-02
  8. "Middle of the Road"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Associate Discount is great Can focus on tasks and be pretty independant

    Cons

    Promotion ability is very small, and very few go on a promotion track Raises are tiny and non-negotiable Directors are stuck in ruts Outdated, windowless buidling

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-08-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Administrative Support Team"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support Assistant in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great starter job is you are looking for flexible hours.

    Cons

    Benefits start after a year of employment and aren't that great. Not enough PTO. Unless you like working all weekend and Holidays, the only opportunities to move up are in sales management which are mostly filled externally or if you've been with the company for many, many years. Ever since I started working for Macys there seems to be major changes and cuts on the store level.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-04-21
  10. "Sales Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Macys has an amazing model of training for their associates and when enacted and coached properly it does produce results. The associates and managers are amazing every store has a family atmosphere. Generous discount Client system best in industry

    Cons

    Work Life balance is non existent. You are on call all business hours 7 days a week. Working 50-60 hours a week. Not enough help on selling floor, I have seen daily people dumping piles of merchandise in frustration because there are not enough associates to help check them out or assist them on selling floor to buy even more Using your stores as .com warehouses. I love change and progression but adding this task on with no additional staff is impossible. You are working with the online customer as well as the customer in front of you and unable to give proper service to either. Communication is always a problem in most stores and when you do not know information you look foolish to the associates your are managing.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-03-23
Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews