Macy's Reviews in Portland, OR | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Macy's Portland Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
5 Ratings
  1. "Origins Account Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Origins Account Coordinator in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was a great job I traveled to a different store everyday to work with the teams to drive sales. We had really fun events. I loved working with beauty advisors training them on new products and services.

    Cons

    I do not have any it was a great job!

    Advice to Management

    Cosmetic Account Coordinator's are very important to drive sales and service! The counters need the support.

    Macy's2017-03-23
  2. "Good work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and incentives for sales

    Cons

    More robust training was needed

    Macy's2019-04-21
  3. "Easy Minimum Wage Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Seasonal Associate in Portland, OR

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy and simple tasks for stocking items throughout the store.

    Cons

    Heavy lifting required for stocking items.

    Macy's2019-02-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Macy's was a good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with and made some excellent friends with customers. Retail work is hard and humbling....but most of your peers make it better. For the most part, the atmosphere is relaxing except during the holidays.

    Cons

    I had one issue with upper management. She was my direct supervisor and her leadership skills were greatly lacking. She targeted me and terrorized me daily....for no reason but to bully me. It wasn't until my husband wanted to hire a lawyer, along with my documentation, that HR got involved.

    Advice to Management

    Please hire managers that are experienced, hard working, but also honest.

    Macy's2019-01-31
  5. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount, flexibility for students, easy

    Cons

    Little to no coverage, miss lunches and breaks if no one is around to cover or manager can't find anyone, no regard for a person's health

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, offer better hours

    Macy's2018-12-29
  6. "Seasonal Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i enjoyed working with the customers, it was the holiday season so most people were just excited for christmas and gifts, etc.

    Cons

    A lot of old timers, people that have been there for a while and much older than I was, very judgmental and weren't kind or patient to me -- a newcomer and also very young at the time.

    Advice to Management

    The more organized, the better. I was very unsure and lost most days as to where I was supposed to be and what my goal was. Also, to break up the clique-ness. Definitely ruined my experience because no one was welcoming.

    Macy's2018-09-03
  7. "Management didn't appreciate hard workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, ability to pick up extra shifts in other departments

    Cons

    Not a positive work environment, lots of pressure from management

    Advice to Management

    No matter how anyone would perform in any department or area of their job, the managers would not notice the work being put in even after some of my co workers had been working there for years, stuck in the same entry level position. Not a very positive work environment.

    Macy's2018-09-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "If you care about people don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet all kinds of people Good education in retail and business acumen Chances for promotion

    Cons

    Zero work life balance Company sees associates as numbers not people Mandatory six day work weeks twice a quarter Black Friday is hellish

    Advice to Management

    Keep promises and standards, specifically with staffing. Don’t set a store up for failure by cutting their staffing in half. Listen to the customer

    Macy's2018-04-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very poor salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only good reason to work for minimum wage is the discounts provided.

    Cons

    The amount of work put on sales associates is staggering. If you're not constantly running around, the manager will come down as they monitor you on camera. No joke, you couldn't stop for minutes to take a breath. We had to beg for supplies like bags and merchandise. For the most part, we restocked out own departments when we were allowed near the storages areas but if the restocking staff put out the... merchandise, it wasn't stocked correctly. Asking for bags was a nightmare, the stockroom manager would hold them from us because they cost 5 cents per bag. Our customers found that delightful!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so cheap and appreciate the staff that works so hard for you. It's like you set staff up for failure.

    Macy's2018-03-21
  10. "APD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Fun job if you are in the right area. You learn alot.

    Cons

    Pay isnt very well and room to grow is minimal

    Macy's2018-01-30
Found 67 reviews