Macy's Portland Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
22%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
12 Ratings
  1. "Origins Account Coordinator"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Origins Account Coordinator in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It was a great job I traveled to a different store everyday to work with the teams to drive sales. We had really fun events. I loved working with beauty advisors training them on new products and services.

    Cons

    I do not have any it was a great job!

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-03-23
  2. "Horrible place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Clackamas, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you like working around clothes and make up, you might like it. If your good at sales and land a commission job you might like it.

    Cons

    The loss prevention team literally acts like cops they interrogated me for hours all because one pair of underwear that a customer that went through my register didn’t get one of the scans tagged. A small inexpensive pair of underwear out of a whole bunch of them ONE pair. They wouldn’t even tell me what was going on for the longest time I seriously felt like I was being questioned for something really really serious. I was literally in tears and my own manager didn’t even know of the situation. I was put on suspension. Mind you I had only been working there for a couple of weeks and this incident occurred on a day when they left me in a department I was not trained in by myself for multiple hours. I was lost and confused trying to make sure I was doing everything correctly while being nervous that I was annoying customers because I was new and no one expiereneced was around. I wasn’t simply corrected on the issue or even told it happened, just pulled into the security office weeks later under false pretenses to be accused of teaming up with this customer to steal a pair of underwear. In the most inhuman way honestly. It was absolutely disgusting. I had went out of my way taking extra hours and working as hard as I could while I was there. This was the only thing that ever happened like that too. It’s not like I kept missing items. It was one item one time.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-22
  3. "It worked for my life at the time"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiving Team Manager in Portland, OR
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, even as an executive.

    Cons

    Often treated as a worker bee, unable to think on my own.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-02-23
  4. "Don't work there unless you have to!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are super friendly Good holiday pay Good employee discount Allowed to sample product to work with it

    Cons

    Managers only care about opening the credit cards They are watching you all the time Pay is minimum and they expect you to work as if its an amazing job Customers constantly steal and become violent ALWAYS UNDER STAFFED

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-01-22
  5. "Challenging"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pto, Macy’s money, health, dental benefits

    Cons

    Lower volume stores lack of support. 6 day work weeks at times.

    Macy's2020-01-03
  6. "Fairly dull and simple tasks"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Retail Support Associate in Vancouver, WA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to understand and get the hang of

    Cons

    Tedious and mundane daily work

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-11-27
  7. "Amazing!!!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Tigard, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, awesome management, fun place to work!

    Cons

    I really having nothing bad to say!

    Macy's2019-08-22
  8. "My experience with Macy's was fun and challenging"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vancouver, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting paid weekly. Busy and making new friends each day

    Cons

    Seasonal position. I didn't get to stay on due to lack of customers

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-05-19
  9. "Good work experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and incentives for sales

    Cons

    More robust training was needed

    Macy's2019-04-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Clackamas, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great PTO package and great schedule outside of 4th quarter

    Cons

    Long hours, little appreciation for work, customers constantly harassing you in order to get discounts, every year they restructure the company and you spend about a month wondering if you will keep your job.

    Macy's2019-03-13
Found 128 reviews