Macy's Providence Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
3 Ratings
  1. "Cosmetic counter sales associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working with public, working different hours, free training, free skin care and make up and meetings in Biston.

    Cons

    I wish they would hire me back but they are all set and have a enormous amount of young woman and men trying to work their way in

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-02-08
  2. "Very Decent work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fine Jewelry Specialist in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved my co-workers, received commission on top of a hourly salary. I really felt like I was part of a team and loved what i did. A lot more down-time than I would've liked but I was able to get more small administrative/ cleaning tasks done that way. Management had a lot of fun people which made it more fun to work.

    Cons

    Management always takes the customers side, doesn't matter how wrong the customer is. If you let the customer know they're wrong and they ask to speak to management then they will always take the customers side, even if it means losing money for the company.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-04-25
  3. "Recive"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Receiving in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for less than a year

    Pros

    The money is really good

    Cons

    Downtown and no place brake

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-01-16
  4. "Exceptional Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Great management. Exceptional associate web portal. Fair practices. Promotions for those that are conscientious and hardworking

    Cons

    It's retail. No life. If this is your choice...suck it up!

    Macy's2018-08-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Management Ever!!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiving and Fulfillment in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work itself wasn’t hard. Pretty easy.

    Cons

    No guidance, i came into work on time and spent a whole hour walking around all 3 floors looking for my supervisor. I almost left, to go home. Hours where given to favorites, new comers were getting 30+ hrs while myself and 3 other girls couldn’t get no more then 15 hrs.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-02-09
  6. "Top Company, bottom tier management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Macys Sales Associate in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Scheduling is handled online via trade and drop application. Training was kind of easy. The sales rotate so you eventually memorize the sale promos.

    Cons

    Some stores struggle due to lack of sales or customers for that matter.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2016-06-14
  7. "Macys REview"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    On Call Beauty Advisor in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's

    Pros

    Great people laid back flexible policies pick your own shifts strong lp

    Cons

    sometimes competitive could have stronger upkeep

    Continue reading
    Macy's2015-12-01
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Don"t do it unless you need a work experience !!!!!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get sales experience, meet cool people, good managers

    Cons

    bad pay, standing all the time and bending to pick up items all the time. not worth what you get paid

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-07-11
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Not the best, not the worst. So glad I'm gone."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Worked with friendly people -Spent a lot of time laughing if the right people were scheduled -I worked in the Dress department, and had an amazing manager (until she got a better management position at Lord & Taylor's) -Was always encouraged to be a manager (although, the managers would always just say that and never explain how to go about it) -EMPLOYEE DISCOUNT (was only 20%, but with Macy Money and coupons, it helped out) -Good amount of hours in other departments if I wanted to pick up any extra shifts

    Cons

    -They pay you...horribly. For the amount of "magic" that I had spewing form my mouth, you would think they would compensate you for being that ridiculous. -I hated the dress code--I love wearing black, but all black everything was annoying. -Morning meetings consisted of the store manager basically telling you to "push" store credit cards on customers -Was offered a position at Origins (cosmetics and skin care), but turned it down after I had to do a phone interview with the head of sales for the company. I'm all set, I just wanted more money and to get free make-up. Let's be honest here. -Daily goals were a waste of time. If you had a sales goal of 1000, they never took into account the pace of the department you were working in. If you're in home, you can meet it in an hour, other departments, not so much. -Not all departments are commission. I think this company would have so much more going for it, if they gave their employees some incentive to reach their goals. It doesn't have to be a lot of money, but if I'm selling all of this product for you, that's the least you could do.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-05-24
  10. "Very friendly place to work, can be hectic during sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice environment to work in, most of the people there are very willing to help you learn and guide you. The good thing is you get two days of previous training to learn how to use the cash register, although as I will mention below, it could be so much better, but it's paid so that's good. The best part in my opinion was that your schedule is very flexible you can pick and choose which days you go to work. Also if you cant go a certain day you can swap your shift or ask someone else to change their shift with you online.

    Cons

    To begin with the training it self is a bit long and tiresome,I wish it was a bit more practical rather than theoretical...I felt insecure in the cash register even after the two days. Another thing that isn't great is that if you don't get online fast enough you wont be able to pick up shifts, you have to wait and see if someone cant go a certain day or call the office and ask if someone didn't show that day.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2014-03-17
Found 13 reviews