Macy's Reviews in Puerto Rico | Glassdoor

Macy's Puerto Rico Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1 Ratings
  1. "Cosmetics Counter manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in San Juan, PR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great medical benefits , 401k, let the associates balance between personal and work life, fun , associate oriented

    Cons

    Yo have to ask permission on order to take more than a 2 week vacation

    Macy's2017-10-19
  2. "Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Juan, PR

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Theres Nothing good to talk about

    Cons

    Everything !! Since managment, benefits u DONT GET NONE, lack of grow oportunities etc !!

    Macy's2018-08-26
  3. "Nightmare Better Impulse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-Time Sales Associate in San Juan, PR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    I worked as a part time sales associate. You can make decent money on commission but you have to be really good. Macy Money. Good Parking.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment. Minimum wage. Commission percentage is very low and doesn't count on everything. Managers promote a competitive environment which may work to their advantage until their best employees burn out and realize they can do better than this. It feels dirty to "con" people into opening a macy's card. Management is very aggressive about this and you quickly start to realize there is a vulnerable population...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more. Make sales goals a team effort and reward the team. You'll still be able to know who is doing well for an eventual promotion , and train whoever needs improvement. Your lack of concern for the high turnover rate shows that you think employees are expendable. While you may think that true, clients are delighted when they come back and see a sales associate they previously had a positive experience with.

    Macy's2016-07-26
  4. "Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in San Juan, PR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's good work not fail to pay and good benefits

    Cons

    I do not see real cons to recommend

    Macy's2015-07-07
  5. "Sales Associate - Seasonal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Juan, PR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for less than a year

    Pros

    Great managers and supervisors. Nice full training. Opportunities for entry level. I learned how to work to complete high sales goals in a competitive environment. Most of the co-workers were nice and worked in a teamwork when a new pal were loss or didn't understand something. Beautiful spirit where you work with and for people around the globe. Awesome employee discount plus store discount applicable in most of purchases.

    Cons

    The Salary is to low for all we have to work every single day. There they have some employees that are very rude and disrespectful with others employees just because they have years working with the company they feels superior threatened others if they take customers they will make lies to the managers saying that the newbies are stilling customers when it's opposite.

    Advice to Management

    If the company has cameras to watch if the workers are stilling or not, please, watch those who don't do their jobs and lean in the newbies making their job impossible to complete. It's not fare to have to deal with that kind of people and even worse in front of the valuable costumers.

    Macy's2015-06-15
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in San Juan, PR
    Recommends

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can manage your own schedule with their system. Good environment to work at.

    Cons

    Holiday season is very exhausting. There is not much space to get promoted or grow in the company.

    Macy's2014-09-27
  7. "Good but NOT great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate In Macy's in San Juan, PR
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to work a part time, good discount for employees and really good training.

    Cons

    Is not a place to make a career, most of the time the managers don't have a clue of what they are doing.

    Macy's2014-09-19
  8. "Good job experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Hato Rey, PR

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great customer service training. - Good team work. - Managers are accessible

    Cons

    - The site where you can get your weekly hours (InSite) can be confusing and it crashes a lot.

    Macy's2013-04-12
Found 8 reviews