Macy's Retail Sales Associate Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
133 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Macy's and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I loved working here

    May 10, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incentives for reaching goals or Opening credit card sales. 25% discount on most items in store.

    Cons

    You are on your feet all day.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place,

    May 10, 2021 - Retail Sales Assistant in Flushing, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, fun team of coworkers, the jobs themselves are not hard and I can see how people came easily continue to grow here if that’s what you want to do. It’s conveniently located in downtown flushing if you take public transportation not so convenient if you drive.

    Cons

    Bathrooms were literally always disgusting, I think it is also easy to feel under appreciated when you’re doing a lot outside of your job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Work at Macys

    May 13, 2021 - Retail Merchandiser/Signing in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Your discount and if the store does good you will get a bonus every quarter .

    Cons

    It don't matter what your job is now you have to do everything . Recover the store , have great customer service, do the truck ,place the truck and markdowns . It puts a lot on your body and its not enough hands for that. They also feel like work is your life.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Great co-workers

    Apr 23, 2021 - Retail Associate in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    loved working with other people, liked not being in the same dept all the time

    Cons

    where you're supposed to carry out the company view, every manager has their own take on how things go, and it can be frustrating if they are not on the same page. No room for personal input/growth unless you open a lot of credit card accounts

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Retail Sales Associate - Read this if you're interested or recently already got a job as a sales associate at Macy's

    Oct 10, 2014 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1) Flexible Scheduling - If you were scheduled a shift that you can't do (drops down 3 or 4 weeks of work schedule), you can advertise your shift but you have to do it right away so other associates that wants to pick-up hours can take that shift and you'll be clear of that shift. I say do it ASAP because if you do it later then nobody would want to pick up a last minute shift 2) Pick-up shifts - Okay listen carefully! Shifts drops down EVERY friday but the picking up is Saturday. The executive office will tell you that you're allowed to start picking up Sunday morning. From experience and other associates telling me, you can start picking up Saturday at 7am SHARP. Be ready at 6:59am. Open/available shifts comes from the office (due to big sale events, they need more than usual associates working) AND from full time associates. They get their schedule AND advertise/pick-up shifts on the same day. So they get to advertise their shifts early bird style. 3) Part-time Options - There are 5 different types of part-time option: Option 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5. I'm not really familiar with Option 1 or 2. Option 5 gets 3-8 hours, Option 4 gets 12-20 hours, Option 1 and maybe 2 are full time which gets 32-38 hours. NOTE: The minimum to maximum hours for each option will be the scheduled shifts. The only way for you to get MORE hours is when you pick up later on. AND during the holidays of course. For example: As an option 5 you'll be scheduled 5 hours. When its time to pick up you, picked up, let's say, 9:45am-1:45pm (4 hours). So add that to your scheduled hours for that week, you have 9 hours. It's not a lot but thats why you gotta be a pro at picking up shifts. Holidays will do you good. 4) Pay Frequency - Weekly! 5) Associates/Co-workers - You will meet friends along the way. You'll see the good and the bad. You'll see who you get along with, stick with them. And stay away from those ones with nasty attitude. 6) Good for people starting out in retail. You will really learn a lot. 7) More hours Opportunity - I'm not really sure if this falls under pros or cons but I'll mention this anyway. Sometimes the store will be short on associates (called out, left early, etc.) and the managers will ask their associates on the floor if they would like to stay until a certain time. I said I wasn't sure if this was good or bad only because some people like the extra hours AND some probably already worked a long day and they don't want to stay any longer for that day. Oh and some has plans after their shift. Sometimes though it gets annoying, people just wanna go home and rest you know. 8) Associate Discount - it's okay. It has its perks

    Cons

    1) Minimum wage. You'll probably get a small raise later maybe a year or two. But it's not much of a raise, a couple cents. 2) "Sales Associate" - You pretty much do everything. You ring on the register, do returns, check fitting rooms, put back clothes. There are some days when you're the only one working in one department and it's not busy at all, and you'd go to the fitting rooms to check. I swear everytime I leave the service desk to do that, a customer will always show up when I'm not there. Really?? When you get out of the fitting room you see them and you have to run to them before they get impatient and leave. 3) Catty associates - The full time associates that have been working there for ages (literally like 20 years or something) are very very protective and competitive over their sales goal. If there is a full time and a part time scheduled for one department (1 service desk with 2 registers maybe) you sure as hell bet that the full time will stay and hog the register while you have to put stuff back. My advice: Don't let them step all over you! They have goals to make, but so do you! If they ever tell you that they have to make their sales goal because they're full time, tell them that you do too! It's not always like this with every single associate. With the people I worked and got along with we took turns because we know how competitive ringing goes around. We helped each other out. I hope the same goes for you. 4) Opening a credit - As a Macy's Retail Sales Associate, you are required to open credits - which is part of the job so it's fine. BUT the part that is not fine is when the managers constantly remind and tell you to open credits as they walk around the store and they see you. It's okay to tell me once or twice about it but it's NOT okay when you shove it down my throat. I know I have to get credits but you don't have to tell me like I'm deaf or disabled. Managers can sometimes make you feel like you're not trying your best with opening it, in other words, incompetent. It has great incentives, don't get me wrong. But please, ease on with the nagging. We're trying our best but not everyone wants to open one for reasons such as: bad credit, closed macys card to decrease payments/interest fee, not interested in opening one at all! 5) Department assignment - Be careful on which departments you pick up when you try to get hours. Other departments are the best but some are just so boring and dead. My only advice is to keep yourself busy even if it's something you don't want to do. At least you're doing something. 6) For people who wants to gain retail experience and some cash, this is the place for you. BUT if you want to make this your career, there's no future here for you. Some associates (mostly full time) have been here for the longest time and this is the only job for them, so just understand when they get too competitive or catty with ringing people out - that's pretty much their life. 7) Easily burn out! - Take a day off or two, you will need it. Bottom line: Every company/employer has its pros and cons, but don't be discouraged. A good work experience is great for future jobs. Remember, work is work. You can't be picky. Overall, Macy's is alright.

    Continue reading
    309 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good pre-Covid, not sure about now

    Mar 25, 2021 - Retail Merchandiser in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. If you like detail oriented & marketing type jobs this is nice. It's not just putting clothes on racks. It's coordinating price, brand, style, visual appeal, etc. 2. Collaboration experience - working with brand vendors, sales managers, visual department, signs department to create a visually appealing 3. If you have a good manager and team it can be very fun and worthwhile.

    Cons

    1. Customers - they can be rude and VERY difficult to deal with, you have to have patience and be able to take verbal beatings over nothing. 2. If you're like me and like organization the stock rooms will drive you insane. 3. Since Covid apparently they've minimized merchandiser to almost nothing, I had 3 departments in my time (2 being my main) and even then it could be stressful most days to get everything done and organized. I can only imagine now having 6+ departments...

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great work environment

    May 4, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice coworkers. Good for people who like to stay stable

    Cons

    Minimum wage. No growth. No improvement

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Macy's Beauty department

    Apr 19, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Commissions (in Beauty dep) Very nice place and nice people, and beautiful products

    Cons

    You have a goal for sale and for opening Macy's credit cards You need to send tons of messages to your customer about events in store When it comes to commission sales it might be hard for some people to have good relationships with coworkers.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I have mixed feelings about this job

    Mar 29, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This was my first ever job and so far, my experience hasn't been so bad. I started working seasonal in the holidays and then was promoted to part-time. The one thing I love most about this job is how the people you work with are very lovely and friendly. Working at retail can be stressful at times so working alongside nice people can put a smile on your face even in times like COVID where we have to see each other with masks on. I worked in a variety of departments and a lot of the people I have worked with are nice and helpful. Another benefit of working there is the employee discount which is 20% off of almost all of the brands in every department excluding Chanel in perfumes and cosmetics I believe (and some other brands depending on your store). It might not seem like much but it's better than nothing considering that a lot of the stuff sold in the store is hard to get a discount on. Whenever you sign customers for Macy's credit cards, you also get $2-$5 in Macy's Money that you can use towards your own purchases (it looks like a coupon but it can be used towards anything you buy with no exclusions). However, no benefit exists when registering customers for Star Rewards Bronze membership.

    Cons

    Constant pressure from manager to register customers for a credit card. Personally, I do not like registering people for the credit card because of how hard it is get and I don't want to put pressure on people. Manager will point out how sales aren't as high as they used to be on the floor which is a given since we are in a pandemic and people are resorting to shopping online. Maybe they can tell us to directly reach out to customers to drive sales up but they say to register them for the Macy's card instead. Personally, I find it hard to register people for Macy's cards either because I'm too shy or I feel guilty about doing so since I do not want to be a contributing cause to financial pressure on people right now but that might just be me. If you're considering working on here, make sure that your persuasion skills are top notch. In my store, a lot of the technology is outdated. Some stores nearby have advanced technology like Macy's Pay and touch screen registers but the store I work at uses Windows machines that are almost 11 years old and constantly freeze. I think our biggest software innovation was the handheld. Training sessions were kind of useless because we didn't learn important things like removing sensors, checking our associate statistics, looking at schedule from the machine, etc. but were lectured on irrelevant things like shipping and delivery practices that you might not use on the floor.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Macys Info.

    May 11, 2021 - Retail Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Approximately 45 to 50 hour work week

    Cons

    Too much turn in District Managers Company always changing direction on priorities Once you reach an income threshold your job in in jeopardy Only one career path and that is Store manager

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,111 Reviews

Popular Careers with Macy's Job Seekers

Executive Development Program
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Macy's? Share Your Experiences

or