Find jobs for Retail Sales Associate

Macy's Retail Sales Associate Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
59 Ratings
  1. "I loved working st Macy's"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate/Cashier in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts, flexibility, associate pre paid card, great management, opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    The hourly rate could pay better.

    Macy's2020-02-03
  2. "Retail Sales Associate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, coworkers were great, employee discount

    Cons

    Pay, schedule never consistent, working holidays, occasional rude customer

    Macy's2020-05-19
  3. "Worked there 5 years"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Palm Desert, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee discounts are great specially for make-up.

    Cons

    Too much drama. They like to keep you part-time Poor training regarding our products and the Macys credit card applications

    Macy's2020-05-04
  4. "Decent place to work"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Beaumont, TX

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn, atmosphere and people commitment

    Cons

    low salary, sometimes boring and no innovation skills needed

    Macy's2020-05-13
  5. "Nice Coworkers and Managers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Almost everyone was pleasant to work with. Working during the Holidays can be hectic, but mostly all of the people working there are happy to help you if you run into trouble. Some people might try to pass off work onto you, but for the most part everyone is respectful and kind.

    Cons

    Basically minimum wage, but that is to be expected for what I was doing I suppose. During the Holidays they will give you more hours than you ask for (could be a positive if you need the money)

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-04-29
  6. "Pay your employees more"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Rockaway, NJ

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and friendly staff

    Cons

    Receiving a poor hourly rate

    Macy's2020-04-29
  7. "Barely got hours, training was minimal"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Century City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to look dress nice and make some money.

    Cons

    They let a computer train you for a few hours and they just shove you out on the floor. 3 hours shifts. Older associates were rude when asked questions. Pressure to sell the Macy’s card.

    Macy's2020-04-29
  8. "Amazing iob"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Salem, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved it! Such a fun job to grow at

    Cons

    I can’t think of any!

    Macy's2020-04-14
  9. "My time"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Dayton, OH

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Nice managers who were eager to help

    Cons

    Unorganized in some aspects during peak seasons

    Macy's2020-04-19
  10. "Macy's review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Altoona, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mature coworkers, hands on management team, friendly customers, nice merchandise, great employee discounts

    Cons

    Standing for 8 hours is hard o feet and legs, lack of staffing means more stress and work and having constantly diffuse angry customers due to so few coworkers to help and checkout customers

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-03-25
Found 732 reviews