Macy's Reviews in Rochester, NY | Glassdoor

Macy's Rochester Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Macy's is a leader in the retail industry for a reason. They have great people, great prices, great benefits, and genuinely care about their customers.

    Cons

    I honestly can not think of any cons about the job. Its well run. Macy's is passionate about its employees and cares about growth.

    Macy's2014-04-25
  2. "Sales Associate Macy's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Victor, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of freedom, decent employee discounts

    Cons

    Had to manage large departments by myself, overwhelmed with merchandise and customers.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more retail workers to minimize their load and let them specialize in the products they know best.

    Macy's2019-03-28
  3. "Ups and Downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Victor, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Take your break whenever, managers off the floor a lot, good employee discount, employee events

    Cons

    Customers can be nasty, performance based on credit card applications, coupons don't work on good stuff, felt like just a number

    Macy's2017-09-13
  4. "Good for college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Victor, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They work around your schedule for the most part and you take on a lot of responsibility. My favorite part of the job was the people I worked with.

    Cons

    Management needs a lot of work. They pick favorites based on how many credit cards you open and not any other metric. They also expect way more than what they should from someone getting paid minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. They can help you more than you think

    Macy's2017-03-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Work work work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Victor, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Discount, Friendship, None, none, none

    Cons

    Stressful, 60+ hours a week

    Macy's2016-11-21
  6. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Victor, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great vacation benefits and great advancement opportunities. If you are willing to work hard.

    Cons

    Long hours. Lower pay.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more money in the future leaders of macys

    Macy's2016-07-20
  7. "Macy's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Victor, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount on clothes, managers aren't on the floor too much, stays pretty busy, lots of room for upward movement

    Cons

    Fitting rooms can become disaster areas, lots of snotty customers, coupons don't work on like anything so customers get upset

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people, have more hours available, and pay your employees more or give them some more respect

    Macy's2016-05-31
  8. "Decent if you work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, overall fairly easy company policies to follow, easy POS system, and a good amount of hours.

    Cons

    Terrible management, disorganized, very unwelcoming when you are first hired, and often treat entry level employees terribly.

    Advice to Management

    Definitely be more welcoming to new hires as well as promoting people who work hard as opposed to "favorites". In my store, a girl got promoted to ASM who consistently broke dress code and store policies because she "didn't feel like it" over a girl who always worked as hard as she possibly could because the other girl was best friends with several members of our management team.

    Macy's2015-12-11
  9. "management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's for more than 10 years

    Pros

    When I first started to work for the company I was very impressed .

    Cons

    Senior management is disrespectful and rude.

    Macy's2015-12-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Associate in Henrietta, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    We had great pot-luck meetings every week.

    Cons

    The company would refuse to give my supervisor enough hours. I made minimum wage, while personally unloading hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of merchandise in a single day. The company was also very disrespectful towards the dignity of employees. I had to tell a female coworker (I am a male) every time I needed to go use the bathroom. One week, I was given 9 hours, and only one day of work. While at work,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be more done to give employees hours, and to respect employees. Also, allow support employees to dress down when the truck comes in. Blue jeans and a clean (black) T-shirt are my recommended dress code for employees handling merchandise. It is still regarded as professional, and customers understand that the team member is doing physical labor.

    Macy's2015-07-29
Found 21 reviews