Macy's Reviews in Saint Petersburg, FL | Glassdoor

Macy's Saint Petersburg Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Representative in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training, great benefits, nice associates and management

    Cons

    Stressful, computer system is lacking

    Advice to Management

    New computer system

    Macy's2019-02-27
  2. "Pros / Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shoe Expeditor in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    none discrimination with race, body modifications, gender, sexuality

    Cons

    lazy employees and management

    Macy's2017-04-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Seasonal associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Macy's Seasonal Sales Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Flexible shifts but very seasonal with chance of post season work. Good management, but pay is entry level.

    Cons

    Pay is entry level. Promotion is limited at the store level. Must wear black for men.

    Advice to Management

    Better training, more information on post seasonal plans and opportunities.

    Macy's2016-12-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Macy's management is what makes your time there unbearable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Stock Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like a lot of time off and barely any hours, this is perfect for you. No no, seriously.

    Cons

    The one pro. Schedule changes will drive you crazy and affect your attendance points that never replenish. If you have a life and need to call out, they immediately forget about you. They pretty much only want to hear you figured it out. Hard work for no pay.

    Macy's2016-03-09
  5. "Recognizes performance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Services Representative in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good environment. Company does great job in recognizing performance.

    Cons

    Hourly wage could be a bit more due to the performance standards.

    Advice to Management

    Department staff should review and rate calls not auditing.

    Macy's2016-02-11
  6. "The worst retail job available"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission Online scheduling Online system for calling out so it is less awkward This wants twenty words but I don't have any more pros.

    Cons

    Co workers Terrible work environment Harassment from managers and fellow employees None of the managers ever managed to learn my name and I wore a name tag Point system for calling out Low hourly rate

    Advice to Management

    Train employees on more than just the computer

    Macy's2015-11-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "worst job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Sales Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commision was good if you sold things well. Flexible schedule you can trade and call out shifts through website.

    Cons

    Co-workers fight over who's sale is who's, managersdon't enforce rules, worse work environment I've ever had in sales.

    Advice to Management

    Enforce your rules on everyone and fire bad employees instead of good ones.

    Macy's2015-06-20
  8. "Don"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Authorizations Representative in Saint Petersburg, FL

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Great company culture, Awesome team members

    Cons

    Poor HR, Managers are cliquish and choose favorites

    Advice to Management

    When an employee comes to you with a real HR related matter against a manager, hear them out!

    Macy's2015-06-14
  9. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance...love the people I work with and the location.

    Cons

    None...I have no complaints..I don't like selling credit cards but you get rewards for having one.

    Advice to Management

    Great management at my store, we have the best.

    Macy's2015-03-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The magic of Macy's? What Magic?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    They give an opportunity to earn money to virtually anyone.

    Cons

    Seasonal workers are paid minimum wage and given the "incentive" of earning unlimited commission. The trouble is the "daily goal" is deliberately set so absurdly high that almost no-one ever receives a penny in commission. The regular workers ensure that the lucrative shifts are taken, leaving the opening and graveyard shifts for seasonal workers. The workers who open up spend at least an hour every morning cleaning up...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay a living wage to your workers. That way you will generate the goodwill and loyalty of the best of them. Stop hiring so many part timers and seasonal workers to avoid paying commission. if you look after your staff, your staff will look after you.

    Macy's2015-02-19
Found 13 reviews