Macy's Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1 Ratings
  1. "Legal Assistant/Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Pompano Isles, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a team worker company very friendly very helpful and very oriented they are very knowledgeable

    Cons

    There's nothing in the company that is a Con

    Advice to Management

    There's nothing in the company that needs any advice to Management

    Macy's2016-12-16
  2. "Strong focus on coaching and developing skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Macy's invests a lot in developing it's peoples skills, with a huge emphasis on coaching. All Management and sales staff are constantly being observed and coached.

    Cons

    Management is largely inexperienced

    Macy's2019-02-19
  3. "sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    discounts, nice staff, training, nice work environment

    Cons

    uneven work demands, sometimes understaffed

    Advice to Management

    I think they are doing the best that they can.

    Macy's2017-02-01
  4. "Folove resume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Sales in Chicago, IL

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    customer services, Asset, well customer services. Team worker.

    Cons

    Arrange all cloths, Give action customer immidelit.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Macy's2015-12-17
  5. "Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Call Center Representative, Sales Associate and Personal Assistant in New York, NY

    I worked at Macy's for less than a year

    Pros

    Macy's is cool to work at if your in the woman's shoes department there is room for growth

    Cons

    Management is not always available

    Macy's2015-12-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Group Sales Manager in San Jose, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Good employee discount, lot's of locations. Local senior management is OK, but if you're ASM or Store Manager is bad you're screwed. Good top level management. Training programs are pretty good.

    Cons

    Clear bias towards younger managers. Store management too easily swayed by "upwardly focused" employees. Local senior management is OK, but if you're ASM or Store Manager is bad you're screwed. Typical of retail is the constantly changing focus/priorities.

    Advice to Management

    Pay a little closer attention to your people. Don'[t shift the priority focus quite so often, it makes people cynical.

    Macy's2010-12-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Neutral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Sales Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's

    Pros

    Great opportunity to learn about retail, and many opportunities to advance if you're a hard worker. Macy's gives you the opportunity to learn about the retail business on a large scale. Never a boring day, if you have one then you're probably not doing a good job. Great place to work after college and gain managerial experience, that will help you further on down the road.

    Cons

    Very stressful, especially during this economic time. There coupon system is frustrating and needs to addressed, they would have much more success with customer service.

    Advice to Management

    Put yourself in your employees shoes, before you make decesions.

    Macy's2009-02-15
  8. "Great opportunities, terrible work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    The opportunities for advancement are great. If the right people like you and you show some potential, the sky's the limit. I received a promotion into management after less than a year working with the company, and I got an opportunity to meet store managers, vice presidents, vendor company presidents, CEOs, etc. It is a great place to network. Also, I have to admit that most of the people that I met in management... positions or above did start out as sales associates.

    Show More

    Cons

    Retail is horrible. You are working with people who, generally speaking, barely graduated from high school. The customers are unpleasant, and it is just a really unprofessional atmosphere.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better people for management in the stores. If Macy's is trying to be a more modern, fresh and fun company, the management should be in line with that goal.

    Macy's2009-01-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great for coming in at a management position, horrible for anyone working up the ladder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Sales Manager in
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Very positive atmosphere as far as team building and motivation goes. Really a great place to cultivate entry-level talent, albeit as they'll need to move to other companies to advance.

    Cons

    Promoting from within is not a strong suit here; most upper-level positions are given to college graduates who have never had a job, or to transplants from other companies. In fact, once I left, I was offered a higher position with Macy's, but since they offered me less than what I was making in my new position elsewhere, that didn't work out.

    Advice to Management

    Taking a chance on known quantities whom you have cultivated from their start (and more than that, were encouraging and full of praise for an up-and-coming successful manager) with you is less of a gamble than going all in on someone from another company from whom you only have a resume and a 30 minute interview to judge.

    Macy's2010-12-30
Found 9 reviews