Macy's Salt Lake City Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
27%
Recommend to a Friend
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Great work atmosphere."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, They care about their employee a lot, very friendly ambiance. Great perks.

    Cons

    Physically tiring sometimes. Pay could be a little higher for the amount of work.

    Macy's2019-06-13
  2. "Average experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Variety of hour and shifts if your schedule is flexible, but sometimes it's hard to get extra hours in if you're not full time. Associate discounts were decent. An overall good place if you like fashion, helping customers in person, and working on different tasks to fulfill customer + business satisfaction.

    Cons

    Pay isn't what you would expect it to be, especially coming from Macy's. Consider other retailers for that. Performance and pay raises are very dependent on opening credit, which isn't always easy.

    Macy's2020-03-24
  3. "Not sure if it’s worth it"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great stackable discounts

    Cons

    If you do sales you could be there any time of the day. Always short staffed so managers always pull others with no communication to others.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-09-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Retail ales at Macy's"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with people, employee discount

    Cons

    Irregular schedule, sometimes difficult co-workers

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-10-23
  5. "Low pay"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment, great team.

    Cons

    Macy's pressures on opening credit cards, and they do not pay well.

    Macy's2019-08-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very Fun Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with were always super nice and helpful. Management was kind and always helped out their employees I got to do lots of independent work, and they let you listen to music Different things happen everyday

    Cons

    They make you do lots of work for little pay There were weeks were I was only needed one or two days, so paychecks would be slim. Having to wake up very early to prep the store could be a chore sometimes Black friday

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-03-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate Part Time Employee"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Fashion Training, Discounts

    Cons

    Understaffed, not prepared for major sales/events

    Macy's2017-08-21
  8. "Good place to work but they try to keep you under 28 hours so you only get minimum benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They offer 20% employee discount plus extra discount days and you qualify for a Macy's store account as an employee which can give you additional back door discounts

    Cons

    The store I worked at did not have enough staff coverage and it often left you without breaks and necessary time to take care of personal matters. Lunch coverage was always difficult.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-01-09
  9. "Great coworkers, less-than-optimal management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Macy's has an interesting vibe. The work is difficult and fast-paced which makes for strong, homogenous groups of people who team up to solve problems. Upper management is extremely approachable and willing to work with employees at all levels to create solutions.

    Cons

    Lower management turnover was extremely quick while I worked there. This resulted in often being placed under less-than-competent leads/managers (as they were being trained), which dramatically hurt productivity.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2016-11-11
  10. "Okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very easy and not terribly demanding, plus they pay slightly above minimum wage which was nice

    Cons

    The location I worked at was constantly understaffed, and the customers would occasionally get frustrated with me for not being able to find me. It's understandable, bit at the same time maybe they should have more than one person in an area to avoid this issue. Also, the push credit SO MUCH. I didn't care for it and disliked how much they wanted us to push it on the customers

    Continue reading
    Macy's2016-08-17
Found 19 reviews