Macy's San Diego Reviews

Updated May 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
14 Ratings
  1. "Great!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fine Jewelry Sales Associate in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managers are caring and it's an overall relaxed environment

    Cons

    Seems to be somewhat of a disconnect between corporate and what goes on in the actual stores.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-04-04
  2. "Flexible Hours"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Women Shoes Sales Associate in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, flexible schedule, small department

    Cons

    Not enough training when first starting, often on-call and was expected to come in on days not scheduled,

    Macy's2020-05-04
  3. "I like working there"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Seasonal Fulfillment Associate in Chula Vista, CA

    I have been working at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    I learned a lot from macy's and I gained more skills each and everyday i learn something new and how to pack shoes and how to do dresses as well.

    Cons

    When i was working there then need to have more patients with co-workers and be more kind and just have a strong team work and learn how to talk to one another.

    Macy's2020-04-27
  4. "Sales Representative"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, respectful, good environment, bonuses

    Cons

    hard to get hours, competitive, dress code, distance,time off

    Macy's2020-03-01
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Good place to work until you get laid off."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Chula Vista, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Macy's for almost 4 years and had a great time there until I was laid off. The managers and co-workers were usually nice. The hours were good and the commission that you could earn during the holidays was great.

    Cons

    Coverage. The biggest problem with Macy's was the lack of coverage, especially during the holidays. I worked in the Men's shoes department and was the only employee working on black friday. A co-worker didnt come in until two hours later.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-09-24
  6. "AST"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AST in La Jolla, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will learn a lot about sales

    Cons

    You would have to work independently without much Guidance.

    Macy's2019-10-07
  7. "It was fine for part-time"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Merchandiser in Escondido, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job and lively people

    Cons

    Really early, not a lot of advancements

    Macy's2019-09-17
  8. "Awesome"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Escondido, CA

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great discount and benefits. They have a great scheduling system

    Cons

    Not enough coverage during the holidays

    Macy's2019-09-05
  9. "great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good great company for everyone

    Cons

    job for single not married

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-09-10
  10. "Two Jobs In One"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, people are friendly

    Cons

    Work holidays, low pay for what you do, on call at all hours for AP issues, growth opportunities are limited

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-09-01
Found 179 reviews