Macy's San Francisco Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
45%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
65 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work if not layoff"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always encouraged to learn new tech, nice work env, balanced work life

    Cons

    Performance of company is going down because macys is a store focused org.

    Macy's2020-03-18
  2. "The Best Deals on Your "High-End," Merchandise, that can be honestly acquired"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flex Associate in Newark, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with a lot of honest, intelligent friendly people. I do not need a Phd or a doctorate to feel valuable to my boss and my customers. I receive a good feeling of personal fulfillment, knowing that our customers can shop in a shopper, friendly environment, and still whether they find what they are looking for or not, they are always welcome to come back and shop with us on another day.

    Cons

    Low wages, at entry level positions. Not too much of a market to apply, my greater intellect into physical scientific matters. Occasionally, a bad apple, but every barrel has one.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-25
  3. "Nice place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead QA Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life Balance,shopping experience, latest technologies

    Cons

    Many meetings, commute,no free food, not many group events

    Macy's2020-05-21
  4. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and good office culture

    Cons

    Company is unstable as is most retail in US these days

    Macy's2020-05-11
  5. "Hope they don’t go out of business"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Merchandiser in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and fun people

    Cons

    Miss aligned leadership that makes the day to day tasks sean pointless

    Macy's2020-05-23
  6. "Many great years, but too old and too slow to keep up with the changes in the world."

    3.0
    Former Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, ability to change roles within org

    Cons

    constant layoffs, no strategy, expected ecommerce to support the failing stores (without making any changes to the stores)

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-20
  7. "Some great people -- Upper technology management increasingly terrible over time"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with large enterprise datasets and some interesting technology. Some folks I worked with were very smart and I learned a lot from them. Summer Fridays (getting the last 3 hours off every Friday between Memorial Day and Labor Day) were fantastic!

    Cons

    Managers above the immediate supervisor level were completely out of touch with the experience of the people who actually did the work, and refused to listen despite being told.

    Macy's2020-05-12
  8. "Nice Coworkers and Managers"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Almost everyone was pleasant to work with. Working during the Holidays can be hectic, but mostly all of the people working there are happy to help you if you run into trouble. Some people might try to pass off work onto you, but for the most part everyone is respectful and kind.

    Cons

    Basically minimum wage, but that is to be expected for what I was doing I suppose. During the Holidays they will give you more hours than you ask for (could be a positive if you need the money)

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-04-29
  9. "I don't know"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Associate in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Station in one place when packing

    Cons

    Sometime hard to look for the items

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-04-10
  10. "Good but not great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work-life balance and ability to impact the company/product.

    Cons

    Very disorganized management, which led to inefficiencies and low productivity at times.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-04-08
Found 560 reviews