Macy's Security Officer Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's Security Officer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
4 Ratings
  1. "Seasonal Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Security Officer in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was low for biggest shopping season of the year.

    Cons

    Standing should be limited to 1 hour for security and associates.

    Advice to Management

    Raise pay per hour for seasonal employees. Include them in contest.

    Macy's2018-04-13
  2. "Good starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Security Officer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Lots of interaction with the public to build customer service skills and experience new cultures. Know that your making a difference in the world helping to keep thieves from stealing and causing prices of products to sky rocket.

    Cons

    Standing more or less in the same spot all day, not able to do much beyond observe and report, lots of policies are inconsistent with goals of the department. Also limited to no room to grow

    Advice to Management

    Recognize workers that have provided superb and reliable service to the company and offer them opportunities to advance instead of hiring outside. Also discontinue the seemingly popular practice of managers offering non-existent opportunities for growth.

    Macy's2018-12-03
  3. "Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It was a Fun job and had great people

    Cons

    I felt the pay was low and the hours sometimes exhausting

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay

    Macy's2018-03-03
  4. "Okay job (Security)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's an easy job, very friendly people, one hour lunch breaks, and an eventual 20 minute break.

    Cons

    Unpaid lunches, favoritism, low pay for a very big company with not much benefits. Pay your employees more money.

    Macy's2018-02-14
  5. "Don’t risk it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Security Officer in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Met some cool people, got experience dealing with theft, and learning how to deal with shoplifters in a Asset Protection setting.

    Cons

    Wasn’t given my schedule until the day before I️ was supposed to work, was told I’d be able to work 15-20 hours, but ended up being 8 hours a week, didn’t feel part of the team, and wasn’t given a chance to do more then stand around at a door and watch people for my shifts.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t give people their schedule so late.

    Macy's2017-11-11
  6. "Good employees but the worst management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time

    Pros

    Discount is pretty good Most coworkers are awesome

    Cons

    Management Lack of promotion from within

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie to your employees or talk down to them

    Macy's2017-05-07
  7. "Monotonous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Security Officer in Valley Stream, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Lot of people watching -Very fun when you find someone shoplifting -Pretty relaxed work environment -Doesn't take much to be promoted

    Cons

    -Staring at a camera all day -Having to use police like codes to describe people over the radio -Long time employees with no motivation to do any work -Staring at the camera all day....

    Macy's2016-08-08
  8. "Horrific."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Security Officer in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's

    Pros

    Friendly associates. That's it. Really. That's really it. That's the only pro. I promise.

    Cons

    Everything else. Literally everything else. Do not work for this company until they change their ways, or they won't learn.

    Advice to Management

    Pay and treat your associates better and your turnover rate might not be so ridiculously high.

    Macy's2016-05-25
  9. "Decent pay staring out. Demanding schedule."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unarmed Security Officer in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay for not having a degree. My site has a good schedule but most don't.

    Cons

    Demanding schedule requirements. On-call. Some site require you to work weekends. Management doesn't listen to employees concerns or criticism. Lack of opportunities. Difficult to move up.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and treat them with respect. Their success reflects your management.

    Macy's2016-02-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Loss prevention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Security Officer in Eatontown, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Meet good people and form many friendships

    Cons

    One of the worst companies to work for, horrible pay, bad benefits!! all and all over worked and underpaid

    Macy's2015-11-10
Found 15 reviews