Macy's Reviews in Sherman Oaks, CA | Glassdoor

Macy's Sherman Oaks Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
19%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
3 Ratings
  1. "A vendor for Tom ford"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vendor in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful networking opportunities and customer service opportunities

    Cons

    Takes a lot of time and effort.

    Macy's2019-05-27
  2. "Great company to work for during college."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate - Men's Shoes in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discounts. Commission makes a difference (during holidays). Relaxed enviornment.

    Cons

    Very slow before & after holiday seasons. Gets boring when its slow. Closing is annoying, having to walk back shoes customers did not buy.

    Advice to Management

    More sales to have more customers when it is not the holidays.

    Macy's2019-12-05
  3. "Make Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Makeup Artist in Sherman Oaks, CA

    I have been working at Macy's for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Inspiring / Loyal / Family & Education Focus / Instills room for growth

    Cons

    Requiring " Express Credit Applications " Mandatory. 4 New Accounts weekly for $.15 cent Raise

    Macy's2019-11-18
  4. "Cosmetics Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Associate in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts are good, lots of free parking, fast paced, vacation and sick days, insurance

    Cons

    Lots of pressure to sell, clients are racist, that you like slaves and pay next to nothing

    Macy's2019-01-30
  5. "Not a relaxed setting, not terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Spacious environment for hands-on work. Micro management is a thing, there will be co-workers who will offer input or direction if you lack. Maybe not in the best way at times, but not awful if you are assertive to your needs.

    Cons

    It’s easy to get treated like just another employee here. Hard work is overlooked if there is seniority against it. Negative environment. It felt like high school and the management seemed clueless like they were just rehearsing lines over and over with no meaning.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t convince yourself it’s amazing here when there is a lot of important values getting oversees from young employees. I think the split of customer service and basic organization of store can get lost in translation easily.

    Macy's2018-12-31
  6. "Very Little Training, Very Bad Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount. Generally a laid back atmosphere.

    Cons

    Very little hands-on training. They threw me onto the sales floor with almost no knowledge of the brands or styles that we sold. Product storage area was very disorganized.

    Advice to Management

    Train your employees. Explain step by step how to sign up customers for credit card and how/when to apply discounts.

    Macy's2018-09-11
  7. "The worst experience I've ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to be creative at times.

    Cons

    This is without a doubt the worst job I've ever had. Started having problems with the way my manager spoke to me on day one. I remained a people-pleaser and just took it for a while but it got worse and worse. I was openly berated and made to feel worthless to the point where I couldn't sleep well at night. At this point I went to meet with HR. Upon arriving at my meeting with HR I was told my "manager had already... been told of the meeting" and that they had met with her. I was also grilled as to "why I'm coming to them now?" Keep in mind I had only been there maybe a month. The HR person signed and acted very disbelieving as I quoted from a log I had kept about the abusive nature of my manager. They initially were typing a report but i could tell had stopped for some reason, unwilling to make a full report. I can tell you that HR even told me "I'm here to protect the company." No, that is not the point of HR. Other employees on my team voiced similar concerns to me. No matter what I did or how fast I did it it was never good enough, despite my all around positive feedback from other stores and employees. The manager I had was belittling, rude, insulting, and generally the most unpleasant person I've ever worked for in my life. People who I've told to story to can't believe it. I'll sum up here by saying, stand up for yourself, do NOT tolerate an abusive manager without giving them your feedback directly and going to upper management as well directly. It is totally unacceptable. You deserve better in life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees who are reporting problems better, need separation between HR and other management for employees' sake

    Macy's2017-05-29
  8. "Cosmetics Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very few and far between

    Cons

    Everything from culture, to racial harassment, to low pay

    Advice to Management

    Get a entire new management staff especially at their Sherman Oaks, California location and stop pushing Macys cred cards over selling actual merchandise. Lastly, stop threatening people's jobs if they don't open enough Macys cards in your subjective opinion. Horrible work environment and experience.

    Macy's2017-05-16
  9. "No training for seasonal employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's for less than a year

    Pros

    Able to pick your own schedule

    Cons

    Minimum wage, rude managers and no trainning.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that your seasonal employees get trained. The only training I got was watching videos.

    Macy's2017-01-05
  10. "Cosmetics management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You work closely with the vendor in cosmetics. The schedule is flexible. You get to meet a lot of different types of people.

    Cons

    If you work in a commission based department there is a lot of pressure. There is no thank yous or recognition for a job well done. This department store chain cannot get it right.

    Advice to Management

    Completely change the way you interact with employees. When I describe Macy's management style I describe Stockholm syndrome.

    Macy's2016-07-01
Found 23 reviews