Macy's Reviews in Springfield, MO | Glassdoor

Macy's Springfield Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1 Ratings
  1. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super fun job, flexible with your work schedule, friendly staff.

    Cons

    Not a lot of full time positions.

    Macy's2017-10-26
  2. "Not Great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lancôme Counter Manager in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Prestigious store, Cosmetics, fun, discounts.

    Cons

    Terrible management, understaffed, too high sales goals, lazy co workers.

    Advice to Management

    Management should be able to do anything they ask of employees. If you can't use a register who can your employees ask for help.

    Macy's2017-05-30
  3. "Flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Very flexible hours, able to work in other departments so you won't bored in your own department. I enjoyed working with the people I worked with, especially working in other departments, you get to know all of the people who work there.

    Cons

    Consistently pushing customers to sign up for programs including store card, another rewards card, and on addition to that ask for 'donation' to join another rewards program. There was always something to push towards the customers which would end up frustrating them.

    Macy's2017-01-06
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Springfield, MO
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    The discounts are amazing and hours are flexible. Macy's does provide quality products and the associates are very friendly and willing to help other associates.

    Cons

    It is difficult to move to a management position. They don't always hire from within even if there are qualified candidates.

    Advice to Management

    Take care to recognize the accomplishments of the associates. Thanks goes a long way and it is important especially to the associates when they perform duties outside their area of expertise.

    Macy's2016-07-01
  5. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    flexible hours discounts and nice managers

    Cons

    weekends to have to work

    Macy's2016-05-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, make great friends. Staff and management is really friendly. Macys also does alot for the community with fundraisers

    Cons

    High Sales pressure, Un-organised work schedule. Very hard to schedule things with personal life situations with out being given a guilt trip every time. If you have a young family not the best choice to have for schedules

    Advice to Management

    Make employees feel like they truly matter. Its a quote used often by the company but not practiced at all

    Macy's2016-03-16
  7. "Fun Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Springfield, MO

      I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun environment, the employee discount was great. Loved my coworkers.

      Cons

      Not enough hours and the store was always understaffed

      Macy's2016-02-09
    • "Great job for students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Commissioned Sales Associate in Springfield, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours, decent discount, fun co-workers

      Cons

      Don't expect full-time hours. They will get you 2 hours below full time just so you don't qualify for benefits. No chance of moving up to a management position or getting any training to do so. The company requires you to go through THEIR training program and all the managers that are already in those positions intend to keep their jobs so they will never recommend you. I worked in a commissioned area and the commission...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire new management

      Macy's2013-08-01
    • "I love Macy's"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Springfield, MO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The employee discounts, coupons and presale information to help you show more with discounts and flexibility with your schedule. Positive atmosphere to work!

      Cons

      There are slow days that have high goals that affect your overall sales performance.

      Advice to Management

      Management is nice and always happy and I enjoy them greatly!

      Macy's2013-04-24
    • "Horrid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Merchandise Team in Springfield, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Macy's

      Pros

      There really are not any good reasons to work for Macy's central or macys in general they are not there for their employees.

      Cons

      They are more focused on themselves and do not care about your life and expect you to put the company first.

      Advice to Management

      Focus on smaller stores not just the main ones.

      Macy's2011-11-08
    Found 10 reviews