Macy's Tampa Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
35%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
27 Ratings
  1. "Very Busy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Clearwater, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are great

    Cons

    Some days calls never stop Some managers are more attentive than others really luck of draw depending on the department and who's team you join. But the good outweighs the bad

    Macy's2020-05-25
  2. "Great entry level job in cosmetics"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinique Consultant in Wesley Chapel, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gratis, free training, good learning environment, friendly co workers, and great management.

    Cons

    The hours are sometimes very low and making sales can be difficult at times.

    Macy's2020-05-25
  3. "Makes no sense"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent dental and vision, disability is generous

    Cons

    Everything. Customers are horrible, if they are not stealing, they are rude and abusive. Upper management allows all rules to be set aside for someone mad over an out of policy return. Ie.... this box at one point in time had a watch, I lost the watch but want my money back, no receipt no proof. If you don’t give me my money I’ll kick your butt Someone will override, give said horrible people and refund. Soon you get to sit in a meeting explaining your numbers and why return polices are not followed. Hours are insane, can’t hire, defiantly can’t fire. If your work ethic demands you see a job through you will end up working open to close 7 days a week, only to sit on another meeting asking why you don’t have coverage.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-01-27
  4. "Best of the best!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Coordinator in Clearwater, FL

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Supportive, diverse and healthy work environment

    Cons

    After ten years working with the company, I really see no cons. There are opportunities and a great work environment.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-12-18
  5. "Credit"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Service in Clearwater, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy I like to help the customers

    Cons

    Yelling people some times but it’s ok

    Macy's2019-12-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Read the terms of agreement"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Specialist in Clearwater, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The staff in general who you work with were awesome

    Cons

    Management need more help with people skills and being transparent and policies for the customers/ consumers credit card holders are horrible . Very incompetent and deceptive credit policies.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-01-10
  7. "It's a Job. That's it really."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20% Employee Discount, Automatic Approval for credit card.

    Cons

    Don't respect peoples lives outside of the job. For a job that pays so little it's insulting for them to want our lives to revolve around that place. They also really get down your throat when it comes onto signing people up for the store card and will force you into weekly training if you don't hit your weekly goal, even when you're being honest when you say people just aren't interested. They just tell you to make them interested.

    Macy's2019-11-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Grim enviroment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Collections Representative in Clearwater, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Easy work, liberal time off.

    Cons

    Depressing environment, company knows it, and attempts to fix fall flat, feels likes run by a first year kindergarten teachers. Management training feels like the bargain box management books from Books a Million. "Chicken Soup for the Complete Idiot Manager"

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-10-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontline Associate in Clearwater, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful work culture, great place to move up or transfer to new opportunities

    Cons

    Management changes their long-term goals too often, causing others to feel like their previous work was meaningless.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-09-25
  10. "Do not take this job if your not a college student"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Great employees, fast paced work environment which keeps you focused.

    Cons

    LOW PAY AND LOW HOURS! They want you to work harder than you get paid, do not take this job if you dont go to college. With low hours you have more time to focus on studies. Very Unorganized, there is no specific area for tape, poly bags, plastic bags, no garment bag roll poles, very messy, boxes are not where it should, and clothing do not get organized. Its very all over the place. Which makes a very stressful environment. All leaders are very pushy and cannot handle their positions under pressure. They will blame others instead of being a leader and solving the problem. Training is really bad, they expect you to know everything when your first hired, so for the majority of the time other employees must teach you AFTER you've already made many mistakes.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-10-12
Found 194 reviews