Macy's Reviews in Tennessee | Glassdoor

Macy's Tennessee Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
15 Ratings
  1. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Collierville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good company to work

    Cons

    No downsides, just come to work and do what you have to do.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work

    Macy's2018-07-25
  2. "This is a good job if you need money or if you want to reach management without a degree."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Portland, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity to learn new things around the warehouse. Easy to move up during the peak season. Vacation days increase every year the more you work and after about 5 years you can get 3 weeks paid vacation.

    Cons

    Difficult to move up full-time and managers and supervisors are very hit or miss. High turnover rate.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with each other and other shifts to better the efficiency of the warehouse as a whole.

    Macy's2019-05-29
  3. "Macy’s sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Lead in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility and great people to work with overall

    Cons

    Hard work and low pay

    Macy's2019-06-09
  4. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Portland, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people and decent pay

    Cons

    Very busy and sometimes overwhelming

    Advice to Management

    Understand that employees have things happen in life they can’t control

    Macy's2019-05-20
  5. "Friendly atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MHE Driver in Portland, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very helpful and friendly

    Cons

    Peek hours can vary. No set schedule during those times.

    Macy's2019-05-11
  6. "Counter MGR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counter Manager in Savannah, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Product - store is just ok

    Cons

    Company could be more supportive

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff, all employees

    Macy's2019-03-26
  7. "Good job for a young person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping and Receiving in Jackson, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work atmosphere. People here are easy to work with. If I ever needed another job,I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

    Cons

    not enough hours for part time employees. pay could be better.

    Macy's2019-01-15
  8. "Loading Trucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Loader in Portland, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    keeps you motivated and enables you to have a healthy work ethics.

    Cons

    Was not paid enough to be happy to work there

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your workers more make sure they are in a good enough mood to work progressively.

    Macy's2018-10-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Racist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Portland, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay flexible scheduling during most times

    Cons

    Racist and accuse people of doing things they aren't doing. Seems like only whites get hired on permanent while they use blacks and Spanish as workhorses during Christmas time.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better security and get to know your workers and stop judging them based on the color of their skin

    Macy's2018-11-20
  10. "(MTM) Merchandise Team Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Manager in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you’re young (under the age of 35) you stand a chance of possibly being being successful and having the opportunity to advance towards being a VPSM (Store Manager). I’ve been in the Retail Industry for almost 30 years and have met some really fantastic colleagues and leaders. At Macy’s that’s no exception, Macy’s is truly a very diverse and inclusive company to work for.

    Cons

    Macy’s is ever evolving and really only wants young blood as their store leaders regardless of your talents and work experience. I have an extensive and diverse retail management work experience and was led to believe that I could have my own box rather quickly. I was brought into the company as a Sales Manager and was promoted to MTM quickly after only 10 months. I was being groomed to be promoted once again until our...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Macy’s needs to look past age and go by talent and experience when selecting its leaders. You’re pushing out really smart, hard working Leaders with outstanding work ethics to bring some fresh kid out of school that are absolutely clueless. Good luck Macy’s you’re going to need it !!!!!!!

    Macy's2018-09-26
Found 106 reviews