Find jobs for Visual Merchandiser

Macy's Visual Merchandiser Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
21%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
14 Ratings
  1. "Visual Merchandiser"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IT is an ok job

    Cons

    People are awesome to work with

    Continue reading
    Macy's2018-07-24
  2. "Creative"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser 

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Consistent weekly pay and hours

    Cons

    environment, management and creative freedom,

    Macy's2020-03-17
  3. "Pretty stressful at times, but benefits are fine."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandising Manager in Concord, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No drug tests. Decent benefits. Steady hours.

    Cons

    Stressful environment. Filled with people who think they know what's going on but they dont. Lot of lazy workers.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-02-17
  4. "Sneaky company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and there are health benefits, but the options aren’t great.

    Cons

    Full time isn’t necessarily 40 hours, so you’re not getting paid as much as you think you will be.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-01-06
  5. "Great experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun team environment company provides open door policy

    Cons

    Early hours and holidays hours

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-01-27
  6. "good place to work just not really my style!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Louisville, KY

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay set schedule nice people

    Cons

    felt like i was never appreciated as much as i should have been

    Macy's2019-12-19
  7. "It was interesting."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for part-time high school students.

    Cons

    hours are not much to work with.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-10-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to start a Career but... limited Growth unless you want to move all over the country"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandising Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people in middle and management and the associates are great to work with. There is lots of variety of work with creative aspects. Pay is decent up to a point in your career but then you have to move or threaten to quit to get an increase.

    Cons

    Large workloads with limited resources at smaller stores. Directors are cliquish and berating to people they do not like. Expectations are astronomical when there are store visits.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-08-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Department Stores are Dinosaurs"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandising Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Long-time Manager with the company for almost two decades. Was very fortunate to move around a lot, due to promotions, and work for some awesome people. Spent most of my career with the company and really became a great leader who helped develop the talents of others. There were some wonderful teams who could problem-solve anything and it was a pleasure to work with some of the best in the industry.

    Cons

    Macy’s can’t get out from under its own shadow. When a company has to sell off so many stores, lay-off employees every year, and focuses on eliminating execs with tenure... you know something is very wrong. I had witnessed more than my share of a**kissing managers who are now in other positions that they can’t even navigate. It became really sad to see how a wonderful company would suddenly turn on so many knowledgeable execs over the past few years... obviously, Macy’s doesn’t want to pay for their talent anymore. When you cut talent from an organization, you are left with robots who can barely think on their own.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-07-25
  10. "Hard work, rewarding but low pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Learn a wide variety of tasks. Staff was cut last year so hard to get projects done

    Cons

    Low hourly rate. I have been there over 10 years and don’t make what new hires make.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2019-07-16
Found 100 reviews