Macy's Washington Reviews

Updated May 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
5 Ratings
  1. "Proud Employee"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s been great so far, lots of opportunities to grasp on a day to day basis!

    Cons

    When I don’t drive I have to walk 5 blocks to metro just to stay on one line

    Macy's2018-10-17
  2. "Collaborative Team Environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, each day is different from the previous day.

    Cons

    Quickly changing industry, impacts job security.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2020-05-04
  3. "Good Program, Good Pay, Customer service wasn't for me"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Development Program in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, generous compensation right from the beginning, sign on bonus.

    Cons

    I wanted to be more back of house/macy's corporate and this was on the retail floor, managerial. The hours and rotating schedule was hard to work around and inflexible. But this just wasn't the right fit for me, none of this is a surprise when you sign on, so more a matter of personal preference for career.

    Macy's2020-04-09
  4. "Ok job if you are a student"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good to work while in school. Make extra money.

    Cons

    Pay is crap. I have to work on weekends. The schedule is unpredictable.

    Macy's2019-10-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Grab items for customers and ring them up."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Style Advisor in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get Paid every Friday

    Cons

    There are Some rude customers

    Macy's2019-06-05
  6. "Great place to work with flexible schedule"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Macy's is great. There are three employment options full time, part-time, and flex. Flex schedule allows you to pick up shifts on your time.

    Cons

    During the week, there is less foot track and not much to do.

    Macy's2018-08-06
  7. "Treat"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitting Room Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No Pros. No pro . No pros. No Pros . Metro Center Macy's. No Pros. Horrible

    Cons

    They are terrible, don't hear their associates out. Look at them as a terrible person, once you've made a mistake. Well LPs for sure.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-12-28
  8. "Holiday associate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Holiday Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You learn team building. Works around your schedule and allows you too Pick your hours of work and stability

    Cons

    Could cause stress Physically

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-11-25
  9. "It’s really nice and teaches you a lot"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is really good, the hours are really good and the people and coworkers are really nice to me and the environment is good.

    Cons

    There not really any cons, except that sometimes a customer can get rude or something or many things could not be going right.

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-10-06
  10. "Great environment but schedule is tough"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working closely with peers and collaboration -sharing ideas is expected

    Cons

    Working weekends is a must - they "guarantee" 6 weekend days off every schedule rotation but rarely does it happen. Work-life balance is tough

    Continue reading
    Macy's2017-06-29
Found 55 reviews