Macy's Administrative assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
5 Ratings
  1. "Great First Office Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Support Team Assistant in Arcadia, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Awesome management and coworkers - Learn many new skills - Don't have to work with customers all the time - Learn how Macy's store runs internally - Working with others - Great training support - Work-Life balance - No shifts past 7PM! - Challenging in a good way

    Cons

    - Not a lot of room for growth or for other open positions (besides sales) since much of the work is automated/uses a computer - Sometimes have to arrive early (8AM), but it's not too bad - Flex worker and won't get an actual part-time position unless someone quits or is fired - Not many places you can even transfer to within this job description within the Macy's company - No benefits for part-timers

    Advice to Management

    My manager is awesome so I have nothing negative to say!

    Macy's2019-07-20
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to learn how to fair in the office enviornment.

    Cons

    Team ethic needs work. Withholding tools for a succesful buisness enviornment

    Advice to Management

    Personal emotional enviornment

    Macy's2019-10-09
  3. "good people, like a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great discount on Macy's products

    Cons

    low wages, inconsistent schedule, not very good training

    Macy's2019-06-15
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in White Plains, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good core values/work life balance.

    Cons

    Could have better health insurance.

    Macy's2019-03-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    Great boss, great work, great coworkers

    Cons

    As with most customer service jobs, all jobs for that matter, dealing with less-then friendly customers

    Advice to Management

    None, keep up the good work.

    Macy's2018-09-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Excellent management, trendy and up to date with culture.

    Cons

    Hourly wages arent up to par with what is usually paid for people that have degrees

    Advice to Management

    none

    Macy's2017-09-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Wheaton, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility for quality time to personal life

    Cons

    Hours for Administrator to work on weekends is not good

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the associate with great achievement and long term associate dedication

    Macy's2017-06-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly favorable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Milford, CT
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great people, great discount. I love the work I do, too.

    Cons

    Salary is not comparable to other HR jobs by any stretch of the imagination. Terrible health coverage. Sales associates get perks, office help gets nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Step up your game for the AST's

    Macy's2017-04-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Administrative Support Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support Assistant in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great starter job is you are looking for flexible hours.

    Cons

    Benefits start after a year of employment and aren't that great. Not enough PTO. Unless you like working all weekend and Holidays, the only opportunities to move up are in sales management which are mostly filled externally or if you've been with the company for many, many years. Ever since I started working for Macys there seems to be major changes and cuts on the store level.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more into your employees and maybe the turnover won't be so high. There needs to be more value towards merit and not tenure.

    Macy's2017-04-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Aventura, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility on schedule, at least you learn how retail business is handled.

    Cons

    Unfair payment, personnel lack of professionalism

    Advice to Management

    Prepare to be and act as professionals . People are greedy

    Macy's2017-01-30
Found 26 reviews