Macy's Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's Director Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Career Suicide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary, competitive benefits, 401K

    Cons

    Career suicide, corporate brands and companies that sell to Macys will not interview candidates employed by Macys as an unspoken non- compete rule, making leaving the company once you are hired at Macys extremely difficult. In the New York home office, there is an internal discrimination against employees with families as well as employees who hold creative roles. Management in all divisions are grossly incompetent... and are rewarded and encouraged for fear mongering and creating an extremely negative and hostile environment. There is no comparison for worst place to work in NY corporate retail.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Check your ethics.

    Macy's2015-12-21
  2. "Director, Omni Process & Systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Senior Director in Millwood, NY

    I have been working at Macy's for more than a year

    Pros

    Big impact, big exposure, challenging

    Cons

    limited opportunity for advancement or lateral movement

    Macy's2015-11-03
  3. "Director HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director Human Resources in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's

    Pros

    Overall good culture. Associates highly tenured. Good career progression.

    Cons

    Tenured associates need to be compensated at market value.

    Advice to Management

    Tendency for new hires to come into company at higher compensation rates. Need to adjust incumbents in line with new hires with less experience with higher pay in order to retain good people.

    Macy's2015-10-19
  4. "Creative Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    One of the biggest retailers in the world. Always growing and ever changing. Inovative and pushes to the next.

    Cons

    Employee benifits for a company this big are weak. Healthcare is not great.

    Macy's2015-09-13
  5. "Low wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees are great to work with

    Cons

    Low wages for hourly associates and hourly executives. Poor health benefits plans

    Macy's2015-08-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "national training director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    NATIONAL TRAINING DIRECTOR in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's

    Pros

    amazing company to work for, cutting edge, fashion forward, leading in technology, very focused and driven for success

    Cons

    i had a wonderful 25 year career working for them

    Advice to Management

    stay the course - you're making all the right decisions

    Macy's2015-06-18
  7. "Hectic but a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Very fair and ethical work environment. Great people. Highly focused on the bottom line.

    Cons

    Insanely busy work schedule. You WILL be juggling some of the most intricate calendars in your career due to the expansive production base. Not sure this is really a con, but it's important to know this takes a great deal of finesse.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more growth opportunities across business categories for all team members.

    Macy's2015-06-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Art Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Art Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will work with great people. Macy's has a great work/ life balance.

    Cons

    Pay isn't competitive. No bonus. You don't get rewarded for great work.

    Advice to Management

    Employees should be compensated better.

    Macy's2015-04-20
  9. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours able to have an office

    Cons

    administration toxic not good listeners

    Advice to Management

    be more visible

    Macy's2015-05-06
  10. "Great place for folks with the right attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's

    Pros

    Scale is enormous, so is the opportunity! Come in with a good attitude and ignore some of the things (basically get out of the glass half full mentality) and you see terrific things. Macys is the premier destination in retail and behind the scenes to make an impact in changing how we serve our customers is enormously gratifying!! Dot.com leadership is just outstanding, from Mike Robinson to his leadership team, it's... one of the few places I've see where there's a sincere interest to do the right things and they follow up! I've been here for just about a year and have already seen top notch folks in every area. Great flexibility in terms of work schedules...key is to get things done (and that's not a tall order to ask). I would truly recommend the place to anyone wanting to work for a mature company yet having the benefits of fast pace as a start up!!

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes commuting to the city feels a drain...but the passion to come here everyday and make a difference as part of this awesome team drowns any issues

    Advice to Management

    Just keep doing what you have, being ahead of the game, trying to change the dynamics of customer service and true Omni Channel service!! Love Terry and all of the leadership!!

    Macy's2015-01-12
Found 66 reviews