Macy's "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16997 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1548 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Macy's Credit Cards & Bronze Enrollment requirements(in 906 reviews)

  • "Impossible sales goals that’s bad(in 557 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Started as seasonal, stayed on part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management staff that is accommodating, kind and helpful. Flexible hours. Employee discount is always a good thing (not for my checkbook, haha). Honestly, it's been a good experience for a part time job.

    Cons

    Nothing thus far, I like working here

    Macy's2019-05-02
  2. "Fun job, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Protection Detective in Pittsburgh, PA

    I worked at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Employee discounts, great entry level job for those interested in law enforcement

    Cons

    Low pay, no promotion potential

    Macy's2019-05-11
  3. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good schedule, great employee discount, great coworkers

    Cons

    Too much pressure to open lines of credit

    Advice to Management

    Talk to employees with respect

    Macy's2019-04-25
  4. "Wasn’t the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Garden City, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The employee discount was a pro. Wasn’t the best but it was ok.

    Cons

    No room or possibility for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a true path into corporate and working their way up from the bottom.

    Macy's2019-05-07
  5. "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    employee discount, flex schedule, perfect for students.

    Cons

    pay is too low, too few hours. No opportunity for full time.

    Macy's2019-05-06
  6. "Awesome Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative/Sales Associate in Kennesaw, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount Macy’s money Overtime Working on holiday (the pay!)

    Cons

    Nasty customers Lazy coworkers who wouldn’t want to help put clothes back Don’t really have much to say. I really did enjoy working at my branch

    Advice to Management

    Continue motivating and pushing your employees to strive!

    Macy's2019-04-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great job if you are a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Employee discount is great 20% off, and some days 30%. Ability to participate in 401K & company match. Paid holidays & time & a half if you work.

    Cons

    Customers are mean & rude. You are working for minimum wage & sometimes less if you are in the shoe department. 100% commission, & if a customer returns their shoes you must pay back the commission. One week I made .36 because of all the returns. And forget taking time off, you will owe Macy's $$$.

    Advice to Management

    Once in awhile take the employees side in a dispute with a customer. Offer opportunity for qualified candidates, raises for long term employees.

    Macy's2019-04-18
  8. "Mice in the building and immature managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Discount and lots of sales.

    Cons

    Mice in the building, immature managers, and a culture that does not care about its employees.

    Macy's2019-04-19
  9. "You'll make more money at McDonalds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The other Macy's employees. The employee discount.

    Cons

    The compensation. The work environment. The customers.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to re-foucus on the reality of life and the industry. Support your people.

    Macy's2019-05-05
  10. "Better than competition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sufficient paid time off per year Employee discount In depth leadership training

    Cons

    Long hours during holiday season Hard to manage time for reviewing daily business besides tasks. Almost no office time at all. Slow growth from sales management positions.

    Advice to Management

    Management varies in different stores. So my advise will not justify.

    Macy's2019-03-30
Found 16997 reviews