Macy's "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17148 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1611 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Love working in cosmetics but bad management can make it all go south"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinique Counter Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, gratis, brand training

    Cons

    Not always the best management

    Advice to Management

    Have a person experienced in cosmetics for the department manager position, hire more people

    Macy's2019-03-04
  2. "Executive Development Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EDP 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good PTO, Good employee discount

    Cons

    Not a lot of pay raises, not enough resources to do necessary job functions, no work-life balances

    Macy's2019-04-11
  3. "Good Commission if You Work Hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission, flexible scheduling, Nice Employee discount

    Cons

    You don't sell, you don't make money

    Macy's2019-03-04
  4. "Working for Macy’s got my foot in the door with working and was an okay way to start."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Macy's

      Pros

      Employee discount, experience, LGBT+ accepting.

      Cons

      Heavily involves physical work and social interaction.

      Advice to Management

      Communicate your expectations more clearly with employees.

      Macy's2019-03-17
    • "Employee- Cosmetics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The employee discount (20 percent) is good.

      Cons

      Long hours, no extra pay for working holidays, poor training, poor communication from supervisors to associates.

      Advice to Management

      Train and communicate with your employees properly. That is your job! Listen to suggestions. LISTEN.

      Macy's2019-04-06
    • Helpful (2)

      "Fast paced department, good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Women Shoes Sales Associate in East Wenatchee, WA
      Recommends

      I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Employee discount, flexible schedule, outstanding workplace environment, wonderful managers.

      Cons

      The corporate side of Macy's is slow to respond to inquiries or issues. Low wages.

      Macy's2019-02-18
    • "Mixed Opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Fragrance Counter Manager in Newark, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Employee discount is a definite pro for working here.

      Cons

      Working all weekends is almost expected

      Advice to Management

      Don't play favorites with your employees.

      Macy's2019-03-06
    • "Bad Customer Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Women Shoes Sales Associate in San Jose, CA
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I found some amazing co-workers who I now call great friends. The employee discount is a definite plus.

      Cons

      A culture of bad customer behavior grew in the store. More times than I can count, customers were allowed to return fraudulent items & act disrespectfully to associates, all while certain Dept. Managers stood by and allowed it. As a commission employee, this greatly affected money being made. On occasion, bad behavior would even be compensated with things such as Macy's Money. At times, it felt like managers did...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Have your associate's back; sometimes the customer isn't always right.

      Macy's2019-03-05
    • "A good place to start, but ultimately monotonous, soul crushing and repetitive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Visual Display Associate in Edison, NJ
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      401k, Health Insurance, Very small amounts of creative flair, employee discount

      Cons

      Managers are Never Satisfied, very small budget for materials even for flagship large new displays

      Advice to Management

      Work Faster and Be More Detailed at the same time.

      Macy's2019-02-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Holiday/Seasonal employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Employee discount, great people to work with (Staff)

      Cons

      Be prepared to stand long hours for low pay

      Macy's2019-02-27
    Found 17148 reviews