Macy's "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17151 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1611 Ratings
  1. "Great benefits but horrible compensation and no work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Merchandise Planner in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    PTO, unlimited sick days, summer fridays, flexible work from home policy, flexible work hours (don’t have to be in exactly at 9 am), a lot of ownership and trust placed in you, you get to be a decision maker

    Cons

    Very heavy workload and long hours, directors rely heavily on assistants and associates to do the majority or the teams workload while they “manage”, not a competitive salary, they hold you back and hardly ever promote you- you have to fight for it, hardly any raises or bonuses unless you get a promotion - staying at the same level but moving areas is a tiny increase in money

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people- specifically assistants and associates. They do all the work for the least money and are going to other companies quickly because they aren’t making enough money and are over worked.

    Macy's2019-04-04
  2. "Enjoyed working seasonal sales here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 
      Recommends

      I worked at Macy's part-time

      Pros

      Good environment overall! I worked in shoes so my sales were commission. I really liked most of my coworkers. Closing was super easy here compared to past retail jobs.

      Cons

      Long hours and typical retail complaints (like customers who get very angry with me about their coupons), but overall not bad at all.

      Macy's2019-03-18
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY

      I worked at Macy's full-time

      Pros

      Friendly environment with room for growth.

      Cons

      Long hours, but worth it

      Macy's2019-03-13
    • "Full Time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Yonkers, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people Good pay Sick days Vacation days

      Cons

      Long hours Department manager always changing

      Macy's2019-03-02
    • "Employee- Cosmetics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Thousand Oaks, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The employee discount (20 percent) is good.

      Cons

      Long hours, no extra pay for working holidays, poor training, poor communication from supervisors to associates.

      Advice to Management

      Train and communicate with your employees properly. That is your job! Listen to suggestions. LISTEN.

      Macy's2019-04-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Manager in Clackamas, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great PTO package and great schedule outside of 4th quarter

      Cons

      Long hours, little appreciation for work, customers constantly harassing you in order to get discounts, every year they restructure the company and you spend about a month wondering if you will keep your job.

      Macy's2019-03-13
    • "great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tulsa, OK

        I worked at Macy's full-time

        Pros

        decent money, good people, fast paced

        Cons

        long hours, short lunch and breaks

        Macy's2019-02-26
      • "It was alright"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Macy's full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          discount's were good, customers weren't bad

          Cons

          standing for long hours and making you work more than you are supposed to

          Macy's2019-03-05
        • "Good experience"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Sales Associate in Edina, MN
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Macy's part-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          -flexible schedule -easy to get the job -great benefits -great discount : 20% on top of coupons

          Cons

          -customers can be rude and there isn't much you can do -lots of entitled employees that have been there for a while -long hours during holiday season

          Advice to Management

          -Be more readily available when an issue arises

          Macy's2019-03-01
        • "Fun but tiring"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Sales Support Associate in East Brunswick, NJ
            Recommends
            Neutral Outlook
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Macy's part-time for less than a year

            Pros

            Long hours more money hour long breaks

            Cons

            Long hours A lot of lifting

            Macy's2019-03-02
          Found 17151 reviews