Macy's Product manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's Product Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
2 Ratings
  1. "Macy's has been like family to me for the past 15 years. Macy's is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are wonderful role models at Macy's. I have worked with some of the best people in the logistics, retail, operations and IT business during my career at Macy's.

    Cons

    I want to move to Nashville, TN. There isn't any opportunity in my field with Macy's in that area.

    Macy's2013-09-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time

    Pros

    Getting more lenient with remote working, good entry level program

    Cons

    Political, slow to adapt, inefficient systems

    Macy's2019-09-09
  3. "Macys employee for 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Room to move if wanted, ability to shadow other people

    Cons

    Corporate culture- slow growth path

    Macy's2019-07-26
  4. Helpful (3)

    "New Direction Promising but Lacks Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New Leadership is steering Macy's in the right direction

    Cons

    Understaffed in key areas ex: UXR, UXD, analytics causes blockers for project teams and low morale Career trajectory can be limited

    Advice to Management

    New strategies are promising but difficult to execute without proper staffing in key teams. Staff key teams required to fulfill new company direction. Promote talent/give them clear paths towards advancement or you will lose them to other companies.

    Macy's2019-06-23
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Macy's for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, fun, innovative , great projects to work on

    Cons

    nothing in specific... commute can be a lil tiring

    Macy's2019-04-15
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Chaos! It's a sinking ship - Corporate Office perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Product Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some good people at the company and you have opportunity to build relationships across teams. Competitive pay for the retail industry. 20% discount is nice.

    Cons

    No HR, very inefficient work flow, constant restructures, forced to work overtime without pay., very little visibility. But for me the dealbreakers were no one is interested in your career development and it can be hard to drive this yourself (especially without an HR team) and there were a fair amount of racist people I had to work with. Macy's business is not doing well and it shows. Also major lack of positive... office culture or an incentive to do well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring back HR. Have diversity training. Stop paying the new EDPs more than the class/group prior to them since they usually end of training the new EDPs. Incentive a better office culture.

    Macy's2019-03-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Beyond inefficient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance (you don’t need to work)

    Cons

    I am so bored. We do in 3 months what I have seen other teams do in 2 weeks. If you want to relax and kick your feet up this is the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Hire quality people.

    Macy's2018-09-25
  8. "Stability but ever-changing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    well known & respected retailer; looking for fresh new talent and perspective

    Cons

    frequently changing culture, slow to make decisions

    Macy's2018-08-21
  9. "Good learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training programs , experience , coworkers

    Cons

    Layoffs, constant restructures, little room to grow fast

    Advice to Management

    “Too many chiefs not enough Indians”

    Macy's2017-10-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Macy's for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment, flexibility in working hours and working location, decent pay, nice office and location.

    Cons

    Playing catch-up game with the competition instead of leading the market and being innovative, too many meetings, hard to get things done given the red tape, not much benefits for contractors, no clear career path, not valuing experience for outsiders and actions don't reflect the company's vision.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on being ahead of competition, focus on cutting any duplicate work between departments and align everybody to the company's vision

    Macy's2017-06-16
Found 30 reviews