Macy's "sales associates" Reviews | Glassdoor

Macy's Employee Reviews about "sales associates"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17016 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Macy's CEO Jeff Gennette
Jeff Gennette
1557 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Macy's Credit Cards & Bronze Enrollment requirements(in 906 reviews)

  • "Impossible sales goals that’s bad(in 557 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sales associates"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lacks Integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Mesquite, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Having the to build lasting relationships with Vendors as well as the selling staff and having the opportunity to help the talent flourish.

    Cons

    Several of the leaders are severely under developed. The company doesn't demands a great amount of your time with little to no reward besides a salary that isn't competitive compared to other companies. The role of a Sales Manager is basically a glorified Sales Associate that is the frontline of abuse from Customers and the Store Manager. This Job and Company has a number of Cons.

    Advice to Management

    Having Integrity should be a requirement for management. Integrity Always is a Pillar of the company that is pushed to the back burner in order to make $.

    Macy's2019-04-28
  2. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Macy's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing besides the protest that was going on that made them lose money and get behind on the credit car goals. I hope their location gets shut down

    Cons

    - Hours got cut at the last minute due to "budget issues". I wouldn't find out that my hours were cut until about an hour into my shift. -No communication between managers. Had too many damn managers and not enough sales associates (but had the nerve to send people home) -Awful entitled customers that would complain and yell about their (expired) coupons not working. Maybe...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe cut some of your many managers so you can have enough money to hire SALES ASSOCIATES

    Macy's2019-04-26
  3. "alright for a summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associaate 

      I worked at Macy's full-time

      Pros

      positive attitudes, from management good discount

      Cons

      pretty bad pay, and the other sales associates just hang around the cash register all day, not doing any real work or actually putting clothes away

      Macy's2019-02-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Seeing what is new in the fashion industry before it comes out! Getting to know clients and help them find the best fashions! Flexible hours!

      Cons

      Not enough sales associates to help customers! Pressured to open credit cards!

      Advice to Management

      Can be a fun place to work,but pressure to open credit cards is a real downer! Not enough sales associates makes customers grumpy!

      Macy's2018-12-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Macy's

        Pros

        good environment to work in

        Cons

        pay to low for sales associates

        Macy's2018-11-16
      • "Sales associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Macy's full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible schedule, fun, discounts and paid training. I learned a lot which opened new job opportunities.

        Cons

        Underpaid for sales associate staff

        Advice to Management

        I had a great manager

        Macy's2018-10-31
      • "Sales Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Macy's part-time

          Pros

          Great people to work with.

          Cons

          Some senior sales associates would compete for customers to gain commision

          Macy's2018-09-01
        • "Cool Coworkers, Horrible Corporate Expectations"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Sales Associate in Westminster, CA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Macy's full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Decent discounts, decent benefits, 1 hour lunches

          Cons

          Too much work for one sales associate to effectively work their area; constant battle between maintaining area or only checking out customers, especially in high traffic areas of the store.

          Advice to Management

          Management in store needs to be more proactive with associates to give associates much needed attention, but I do know managers and the like have a lot on their plate as well. For higher ups- a better work force would be a thing if their was more workers during peak hours of the store to help elevate the pressure.

          Macy's2018-09-14
        • "Sales"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Macy's part-time

          Pros

          Fast pace environment that keeps you on your toes.

          Cons

          The job becomes stale after awhile as a sales associate

          Macy's2018-07-26
        • "No flexibility"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in West Palm Beach, FL
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Macy's full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          Benefits are average, discounts are nothing to be wowed by.

          Cons

          management doesn’t care if you have a life. Expect to work long hours getting paid like a sales associate but doing work of a construction worker, problems using benefits you’ve earned over the years because of management.

          Macy's2018-06-12
        Found 17016 reviews