Mad Science Mad Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor

Mad Science Mad Scientist Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Mad Science CEO Ariel Shlien (no image)
Ariel Shlien
4 Ratings
  1. "The job where you feel like a big kid playing with science."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mad Scientist in South Florida, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mad Science part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun, you feel like a celebrity in schools, can be a second job if needed. Fantastic starter job.

    Cons

    Limited to area interest, kids are unpredictable, might be driving a lot. Hours aren't great long-term.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see updated material/equipment sent to locations more often.

    Mad Science2018-10-22
  2. "Disorganized but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mad Scientist 

    I worked at Mad Science part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the hourly wage is great, flexible scheduling

    Cons

    the company is disorganized and the prep-work is unpaid

    Mad Science2019-08-12
  3. "Mad scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Mad Scientist in Oviedo, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mad Science for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with children, teaching them Physics,Biology and other

    Cons

    By the time you calculate the wear and tear in your vehicle,gas and time allocated to reach location you end up making less than $8 hour

    Advice to Management

    Good luck retaining quality employees, once they figure out the low pay ,they will not come back

    Mad Science2018-11-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mad Science rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mad Scientist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mad Science full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, great people to work with

    Cons

    few hours, equipment needs to be updated, better training

    Advice to Management

    make sure the box has the right equipment and that it all works.

    Mad Science2018-04-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Positive experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mad Scientist 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mad Science part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pre-planned lessons; paid for training sessions; helpful staff

    Cons

    If you are not naturally great at teaching and need to prepare, the pay ($30/class, including set-up, drive-time, and clean-up) may be insufficient.

    Mad Science2018-04-25
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mad Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mad Science part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its very rewarding working with kids to create a future generation of scientists and engineers!

    Cons

    Kids can sometimes be a handful, but nothing wrong with the company itself

    Mad Science2017-08-15
  7. "eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Mad Scientist in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mad Science part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    you'll get lots of money for the hour you work but spend it all on gas and basically waste your time driving. they do give back 20 cents a mile but its from their office to the location (which is lower than the IRS -- thats 55 cents a mile)

    Cons

    management doesn't help you. you have to pick up your kits and that is unpaid. i've seen my manager twice in the 3 months i've worked there. if you are trying to work there for the summer camps -- don't. i did and i haven't gotten a single camp yet. some weeks you can make $300 but most you will make about $60.

    Advice to Management

    get organized. stop cancelling classes last minute. make sure that everything that the employee's need are in the kits.

    Mad Science2017-06-09
  8. "really fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mad Scientist in Houston, TX

    I worked at Mad Science part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This job is really fun. Management provides excellent support for your performance during workshops and camps teaching science to children through hands-on activities.

    Cons

    The workflow and subsequent paychecks are not consistent from week to week.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more support to your employees on how to market Mad Science and generate leads when they're out there teaching.

    Mad Science2017-04-13
  9. "Too much work during prep time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mad Scientist/Instructor in Denver, CO
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mad Science part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a flexible schedule and enjoyed working with kids and teaching them. l liked the idea of teaching science in a fun and creative way.

    Cons

    There was too much work during prep time. I had to study the curriculum 3-4 hours each night, so I could teach the lesson the following day. The pay was not commensurate to the time you put in during prep time. With the amount of work I had to put in, the pay was like $10 per hour. Also, there was too much micro management which was quite annoying. Management was not supportive of new hires and was unappreciative.... They were critical of your flaws and did not appreciate your effort and good work. I had to clean the mess left by the kids in a classroom and bathroom everyday and provide the kids' name badges, but nobody appreciated that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please be supportive of new hires and stop micro managing them because it can be exasperating.

    Mad Science2016-07-15
  10. "mad scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mad Scientist/Instructor in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mad Science part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, they can be flexible with your schedule. Amazing opportunity to improve and move up. Working with all types of people and children. Good for college student just looking for extra cash but it's whatever you make it!

    Cons

    Intense training. Time consuming until you get the hang of the kits. Background checks. Traveling distances sometimes to work but your compensated for your mileage.

    Advice to Management

    The online system could be easier to operate. Some kits and information are outdated or do not apply in most cases.

    Mad Science2016-04-27
Found 25 reviews