Mad Science Mad Scientist Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Mad Science Co- Founder and CEO Ariel Shlien (no image)
Ariel Shlien
8 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    The job where you feel like a big kid playing with science.

    Oct 22, 2018 - Mad Scientist in South Florida, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun, you feel like a celebrity in schools, can be a second job if needed. Fantastic starter job.

    Cons

    Limited to area interest, kids are unpredictable, might be driving a lot. Hours aren't great long-term.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Mad Scientist

    Mar 2, 2021 - Mad Scientist/Instructor in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, Fun, Short shifts, Great staff, and Employee appreciation

    Cons

    Have to drive to elementary schools but will get paid for anything over 10 miles away

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Don’t work here if you don’t like to drive

    Feb 27, 2021 - Mad Scientist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, fun environment, working with kids

    Cons

    Lots of Driving, low pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Had a lot of potential...

    Oct 2, 2020 - Mad Scientist in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fun, loved the kids, unique

    Cons

    disorganized, unpredictable, broken supplies, confusion

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Great for kids

    Nov 9, 2020 - Mad Scientist/Instructor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay for a summer job

    Cons

    Not organized, it became upsetting at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Disorganized but fun

    Aug 11, 2019 - Mad Scientist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the hourly wage is great, flexible scheduling

    Cons

    the company is disorganized and the prep-work is unpaid

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great if you can handle the driving and kids

    May 2, 2014 - Mad Scientist in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work with kids, have fun with them in the classroom. Birthday parties are an absolute blast and you can get tipped well. You're never working for long. Classes are usually an hour, birthday parties two hours or so. If you like entertaining people then it's perfect.

    Cons

    A lot of people will say the training sucks but I kept on top of it and rarely minded it. The driving is a big issue, you'll spend quite a lot of time in the car, especially if your class lets out anywhere around rush hour. Also getting and returning kits from the office. It can really add up. Management is super freakin' duper unprofessional and that is their biggest strength and their biggest weakness. If you get to be pals with them then you're unlikely to ever get more than a slap on the wrist for your biggest fiascos. If not, then it'll seem like you can't do anything right with the amount of lectures I've seen other employees receive. They try to scare you "straight" with long talks and rarely anything else which betrays the underlying fact that they are extremely reluctant to let anyone go and always in need of new contractors. This situation will be a dream come true to a lot of under-performers/slackers/stoners but I think it leaves those with bigger ambitions always looking for new work.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Mad scientist

    Nov 24, 2018 - Mad Scientist in Oviedo, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with children, teaching them Physics,Biology and other

    Cons

    By the time you calculate the wear and tear in your vehicle,gas and time allocated to reach location you end up making less than $8 hour

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great if you aren't really needing to make money

    Jan 2, 2015 - Mad Scientist (After School Program Instructor) in Denton, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun job (usually) Great for teaching experience Nice managers and coworkers Usually the kits are really cool Sometimes the kids are sweet Chances for bonuses

    Cons

    Long driving distances Lots of unpaid prep-time for lessons required (hours before you get to the classroom and 30min-1hour for set up and clean up in the classroom) You don't get gas compensation for your exact mileage; they use a predetermined distance from your wear house to the schools (My closest wear house was over 15 miles into all of my drives so I would actually drive about 30+ more miles each time I worked then I was compensated for which adds up) I was pretty much just working to pay for my gas needs that were mostly to get to work Required to drive to wear house each week for kit exchange (which can take hours and is a bit of a drive) unpaid Can be pretty stressful being stuck alone with 20+ children who have been in class all day (I was left alone with as many pre-k and kindergarteners on my second day ever) Inflexible- if you couldn't work it can be hard to find someone to cover your class. Also, I would get assigned to schools that were really hard to get to with my availability I had given them (I'm a college student and would often times be running straight to my car from class and would still have trouble getting there on time) and I'd get in trouble if I wasn't there at least 15-30 minutes before my class started which led to me skipping my college class A LOT that semester

    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun Summer Job, You get what you put in

    Oct 12, 2015 - Mad Scientist in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked part time for this company over the summer, and enjoyed my time there. As a college student in a technical field, I had always volunteered for educational outreach events. Being a performer for Mad Science was effectively doing the same work except getting paid for it!

    Cons

    If you want to be good at the job, you need to account for prep time. First starting off, I was spending just as much time out of the classroom working as I was in the classroom. This eventually subsided, however. Account for a large learning curve, followed by a smooth coast once you know the ropes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

Popular Careers with Mad Science Job Seekers

Part-Time Educator
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
After School Program Instructor
Learn About the Job

Work at Mad Science? Share Your Experiences

Mad Science logo
or