Madden Communications Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
69%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Madden Communications CEO Marc Wasserman (no image)
Marc Wasserman
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly coworkers, good pay, summer hours(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good people working hard to make a difference(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "A solid, rewarding place to work..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wood Dale, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Madden Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Madden is well-respected in its industry with a strong product offering. It has been constantly evolving over the last 10 years in order to position itself for the next generation of retail marketing POS execution. Good people working hard to make a difference. Great benefits and work-life balance.

    Cons

    Madden is currently transitioning from its legacy traditional print manufacturing background to a more diverse procurement and distribution service provider. There is lots of change to deal with.

    Madden Communications2019-02-28
  2. "Dedicated people who delivered and documented results for their clients."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Wood Dale, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Madden Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You owned your projects and relationships. You were able to independently manage projects and clients without too much oversight from upper management.

    Cons

    Upper management wasn't able to hold onto the existing clients, nor secure new clients. Madden went out of business.

    Madden Communications2020-01-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Been predicting for years that Madden would sell/close shop"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Production Coordinator in Wood Dale, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Madden Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Superb documentation of internal processes and procedures, equipment capabilities. Best in class training and cultivation of strong customer service personnel.

    Cons

    - Very long hours for some, while others do the bare minimum - poor load balancing - Lots of favoritism - Bad business decisions led to many rounds of RIF's - Poor path to advancement in customer service - Ultimately, years of bad management and decision making led to customers severing ties with this once great company, to the point that Madden's equipment was sold off to Orora and Inner Workings (Aug 1st 2019). Empty shell of what was once great. Former co-workers from customer service are fortunately very well prepared to work in the print industry. Several are employed along side me at my current place of employment.

    Continue reading
    Madden Communications2019-08-09
  4. "Madden was an ok job.. the minute I joined the team I noticed I was doing other people’s jobs as well."

    2.0
     

    I worked at Madden Communications

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, good pay, summer hours

    Cons

    Make you do things that isn’t in your job description

    Continue reading
    Madden Communications2019-06-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Need to focus on the employees that make the place run smoothly"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kenosha, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Madden Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are decent, vacation time is nice.

    Cons

    -Will make you work overtime without notice (which isnt illegal , but still, some heads up a few days before would be nice.) -Plays favorites -Keeps you in the dark for months about if / when the company may be shutting down. -Sneaky and secretive , as a previous review said, they would rather rumors start than to tell anyone whats going on there. -Supervisors that will sit in the office and look at shopping websites and book plane tickets for their upcoming 2 week vacations rather than help their team. You can see that from the window on the floor. -No team work. -Pay freeze, no room to grow

    Madden Communications2019-06-05
  6. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Madden Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people there truly care about the work & each other.

    Cons

    Didn’t place enough focus in the right areas to make the needed impacts.

    Continue reading
    Madden Communications2019-03-30
  7. "A good place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Madden Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people work here, employees take pride in their work, good benefits package.

    Cons

    There is a lot of secrecy. Management claims to have open doors but that isn't true. There appears to be a revolving door (high turnover) at the top.

    Continue reading
    Madden Communications2019-04-02
  8. "Positive Outlook"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Madden Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The communication and the company outlook is improving. A lot of changes have been made to improve the overall outlook for the company. It seems there will be many more opportunities in the future.

    Cons

    The company vision has not always been clear. Upper management should keep communicating and being open for questions.

    Continue reading
    Madden Communications2019-03-05
  9. "Great company and boss"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Madden Communications full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance. Great company.

    Cons

    None, I enjoyed working there.

    Madden Communications2019-02-26
  10. "Great environment to work in!!!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner/Logistics Analyst in Kenosha, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Madden Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture, family atmosphere , and great co- employees.

    Cons

    Less growth opportunity to move up in company.

    Continue reading
    Madden Communications2019-03-02
Found 60 reviews