KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Madewell

Is this your company?

Madewell

Add a Review

Madewell Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,081 of over 1,100 reviews

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Madewell CEO Libby Wadle
Libby Wadle
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount, usually approved time off requests(in 171 reviews)

  • "Co-workers are very friendly making the work environment fun(in 93 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not so great for part time hours(in 43 reviews)

  • "Low pay, Sometimes couldn't get enough hours(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Madewell and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      associate

      Jul 27, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good company culture & nice people to work with

      Cons

      N/a N/A N/a N/A N/A

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Discounts - Alright Management

      Jul 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discounts on sale and full price items, you get a free outfit when you join

      Cons

      Management hired more people instead of giving current employees enough hours, management did not seem to care about individual employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Part-Time Jobs Can Be Fun in Retail

      Jun 28, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Sales Team and managers who support each employee. Employee benefits of clothes discounts and 401 K Plan options. Flexible schedule. Group Sales awards for store performance. Top managers were very accessible to everyone, that was impressive.

      Cons

      Pre-Covid the store was rather uniform in its concept of how to reach audience. Post-Covid, there was more focus on locality and realization that keeping customers was more personalized. Sales Training overall was somewhat standard in format. Extra education in sales training would have been helpful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Supportive Company with Chill Environment

      Apr 21, 2021 - Temporary Assistant Manager/Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First, I really like that Madewell does not go by commission for associates. It provides a healthy, positive work environment where we can support one another in sales. Knowledge of the product is important, but after you work there for a few months, you become really knowledgeable after listening to others describe our denim and leather products. As a temporary PT assistant manager, you get introduced to the tasks of regular PT managers, without being thrown into the position unprepared. They slowly introduce and teach new tasks, while also quickly depending on you to step up your knowledge and support for the store. I really enjoy this balance.

      Cons

      I think training can really vary based on who is in charge of your denim certification and overall introduction to Madewell. When I first started out, I asked a lot of questions to associates if I felt I was overwhelmed, but didn't want to ask management again how to do something. This fostered good relationships with coworkers where we feel open to helping each other, so it was not such a bad thing in the end.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great!

      Jul 19, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved working here, a great company to work for

      Cons

      In busy seasons it was a little demanding

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not horrible... for retail

      Jul 13, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      solid discount (60% off 6 items a month with 40% off everything store brand) work with great associates, have made some wonderful friends there flexible schedule

      Cons

      - $12 an hour when they pretend to be a progressive company- i think they assume all associates are rich college girls looking for a part-time summer hobby and clothes rather than an actual compensated job - consistently violate break policies and don't give paid 15 min breaks for longer shifts even though required by company policy. management has said that "we decide when those breaks are taken because they're paid so they have to earn it." - management is so cliquey and secretive and impersonal, i was interested in a full time position but the open position wasn't even mentioned around the store as an opportunity to move up. - management sits on company wide zoom calls in the back all day for hours on end while we're understaffed and incredibly busy on the floor. they also talk so much trash about associates in the back when it's obvious we can hear. even on hot days i have to leave the store during breaks because our break room is too small for us to sit bc the managers are all on their computers. - not inclusive or interested in diversity at all, almost all skinny white women employees and they don't really care about feedback about what we need help with or ideas on what could be better, only care about what's selling well

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fun job but low pay

      Jul 21, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Hingham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Madewell is a great company to work for! Women and men love the brand so it is easy to sell and stand behind. Especially impressive is the company’s dedication to civil and human rights and sustainability.

      Cons

      The pay is NOT competitive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great company

      Jul 15, 2021 - Product Expert in Fairfax, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and work ethics

      Cons

      Long hours and customer service

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      Jul 13, 2021 - Unemployed in Greensboro, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really wonderful staff and managers

      Cons

      Difficult customers that you have to please

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work, needs to increase DEI initiatives

      Jun 11, 2021 - Retail Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The environment at Madewell is fun and laid back with a supportive and friendly team of co-workers. It's really awesome getting to style folks in denim that they feel amazing in!

      Cons

      Madewell really has a ways to go in becoming more inclusive as a brand and attracting a more diverse workforce and customer base. They also need to include a larger size range of denim in store instead of just offering plus sizing online.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,081 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Madewell Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Madewell? Share Your Experiences

    or